Skip to content

Let’s Go On a Picnic

July 1, 2010

I’ve been participating in the Let’s Go Ride a Bike Summer Games ever since they started this summer. You can find my previous entries here: Going on a group ride in Munich; going on a bike date in Munich; followed by another bike date/group ride in Prague; sticking my nose in some bike-centric literature; and finally, decorating and utilizing my bike for its carting capabilities. The Games are now in their Third Session, which is all about exploring new territory, such as using your bike to go on a picnic. Yes, please!

There was a free concert on our college campus with a visiting carillonneur this week. A carillonneur is someone who plays a carillon, a musical instrument housed in a bell tower. Most college campuses I’ve attended have had bell towers that sound and play music throughout the day, but I never realized that there is an actual musician in there playing them. After the concert, we got to climb the winding stairs into the tower and see the instrument as well as play a few notes of our own. Oh, the poor ears of the listening locals.

So what better way to enjoy an evening outdoor concert than with a picnic, some delicious food, and some tasty wine…er, apple juice. I tossed a blanket into my bike basket and T. strapped a cooler of food to his rear rack and we were all set. The only downside to biking to the concert was not being able to bring our dog along (this would have required driving to haul her there) so the poor pup had to be left behind. In Germany, I saw lots of car-free people biking their dogs to the river or to the park in bike carriers for kids, so now we’re in the market for just that in order to include our pup on future biking adventures. Rather than having to choose between the bikes or the dog, this should allow us to bring them both along. Now, if only there were dog-sized helmets with little ear cut-outs….

Post picnic, concert, and carillon tour, we merrily rode on home and said good night to the world. Not a bad way to spend a summer week night.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 14:54

    What a perfect evening date! I have a friend who is a chimesmaster so I have spent some time at the top of a bell tower, and played s few notes myself. I think the idea of a carrier is wonderful. While not quite the same, by bf and I constantly joke about getting a motorcycle sidecar for our dog. Her helmet would be a skull cap with cut-outs and an old school spike on the top to make her look hardcore (which she is so far from). I love the image of a dog in a helmet!

  2. July 1, 2010 20:16

    sounds like so much fun and your woven basket is adorable.
    i love having picnics in the park…must do that again soon.

  3. July 2, 2010 02:19

    You two are so cute. Sounds and looks like the perfect date!

  4. July 2, 2010 18:13

    It just hit me that you are one of the ladies from Academicic! – now it all makes sense : )

  5. July 4, 2010 04:51

    Lovely picnic spread there. I’m kinda obsessed with Jimmy Johns (#4 on wheat, no sprouts, easy on the mayo). The concert sounds interesting. Reading about this, I realized how much I miss clock towers chiming after being away from the university setting for a few years. Sometimes I’ll be riding by a grand church at just the right time and get a lovely earful, but not nearly often enough.

    I look forward to seeing what you work out for dog transport. A friend told me her dog once jumped out of a trailer while on a busy road – yikes – so maybe start out with a trailer with a net cover or something. I’ve been considering purchasing a trailer for groceries (alas, no animal transport – my cats are not that adventurous) so I’d love to hear your impressions on any you test ride.

    • July 5, 2010 14:02

      I always get the no.6 – vegetarian with avocado and sprouts …mmm….

      As for the dog transport – yes, it would definitely have to be enclosed! There is no way our dog would stay in it if it weren’t. Right now I’m wondering whether it would make a difference if we got a carrier meant for dogs or a used kid one that we could put our dog in. I wonder if the dog ones somehow make it easier for the dog to sit in or if a child one isn’t actually a better construction (because it’s for kids).

Trackbacks

  1. 2 July 2010 – Bike Picnic : academichic
  2. The Long Way There « Simply Bike
  3. Summer Games Spoils: My New Cycle Jacket « Simply Bike
  4. Goodbye Summer, Goodbye Cruiser « Simply Bike
  5. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike
  6. Simply Bike » join in on the LGRAB 2011 summer games!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers