Skip to content

RAGBRAI, here we come!

July 24, 2010

I got a new (to me) road bike. And just in time for RAGBRAI. As my husband put it, at the eleventh hour. (God, I love Craigslist.)  We’re participating in one day of RAGBRAI this coming week and I had been fumbling about on borrowed road bikes that weren’t the best fit for me, but determined to do the ride anyway. I’m so thrilled to have my new 2008 Schwinn Le Tour GS on which to cover the slightly over 50 mile ride this week.

I know what I’ll be doing this weekend…breaking in the new member of my bikey family… T. named her Winnie and we already think she’s pretty awesome…



Happy riding!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 19:09

    Congrats on the new acquisition! I have been thinking about adding a road bike to my bikey family recently…but it’s a ways from reality at this point. You and Winnie look great. I love the front light.

  2. Janni permalink
    July 24, 2010 19:44

    Congratulations!
    Booah – ein supercooles Rad und eine tolle Ausrüstung: Der Helm sieht sehr professionell aus! Toll sind auch die Rad-Handschuhe, jetzt fehlen eigentlich nur noch richtige Fahrradschuhe und die Tour-de-France kann kommen!

  3. Blume permalink
    July 24, 2010 21:35

    Great find! Wie findest du das Fahren mit dem Rennlenker?

  4. July 25, 2010 13:00

    Welcome Winnie!

  5. July 25, 2010 14:56

    I love Winnie! And I love that centered photo of you and her together. You are going to rock that ride in style!

  6. July 25, 2010 15:13

    Thanks everyone! I’m so excited about Ragbrai this week and I’m finally starting to feel at home on a road bike :) Just in time.

    @Janni – danke! Die Radhandschuhe sind super, da sie kleine Luftsäckchen auf der Handfläche haben, die dann wirklich helfen wenn man die ganze Zeit so viel von seinem Körpergewicht auf den Händen stützt. Aber ich glaub ich brauch noch, bevor ich mich dazu trauen kann, Radschuhe zu benützen!

    @Blume – Gar nicht so schlimm! Ich musste mich daran gewöhnen, so weit nach vorne gebeugt zu sitzen. Am Anfang ist das wirklich komish und wir mussten ein Paar Mal den Sitz umsetzen um die beste Position zu finden (denn ganz am Anfang hatte ich Rückenschmerzen von der gebeugten Stellung). Aber jetzt wo es gut passt, gehts ganz gut und es gefällt mir auch voll gut so schnell fahren zu können. Mir gefällt die Abwechslung von dem Cruiser zu einen Rennrad, ist halt was anderes ab und zu :)

  7. July 25, 2010 16:39

    Awwww…CONGRATS! Have tons of happy times and lots of adventures. And I love the color!

    • Alison permalink
      July 26, 2010 14:28

      I just moved to Iowa this spring and this is the first I’ve heard of RAGBRAI. I look forward to hearing about your experience. My boss rode in it yesterday. Looks very interesting.

      • July 26, 2010 16:54

        We’re joining the cyclists on the road tomorrow and I can’t wait! :) I will definitely post a follow up.

  8. July 26, 2010 15:06

    PS – I have given you the Versatile blogger award! http://christinehennessey.blogspot.com/2010/07/vacation-and-award.html

  9. July 26, 2010 18:47

    Nice bike! I am admiringly jealous of your plans to bike RAGBRAI! I’ve only recently gotten into biking any sort of longer distances (I’m mostly a commuter but I’m branching out a little). I have a fantasy of doing RAGBRAI some day. I can’t wait to hear about your experience!

Trackbacks

  1. Ragbrai – The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly {Part I} « Simply Bike
  2. will bike for apples « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers