Skip to content

Ragbrai – The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly {Part I}

July 29, 2010

I recently participated in the great bike event that is Ragbrai. In short, Ragbrai is a week-long bike ride across the state of Iowa. It is the longest and largest bike ride in the world. Officially, 10,000 cyclists participate. Unofficially, it’s something closer to 15,000 riders that take to the road, averaging around 60-70 miles per day.

My husband and I joined the cyclists for one day, rode just under 70 miles, and promptly decided that we must do the week-long adventure next time. In case you’re a cyclist in the US or you simply feel like setting out to visit Iowa – by bike – from across the ocean, here is my recap of this amazing event. I’ll start with the Good, and the Bad and the Ugly will follow in future post.

The Good

There is a lot of good to tell of. This event is currently in its 38th year and so it is very well organized and all of Iowa seems to come out to greet the cyclists as they pass through each town. Everything from the festive atmosphere, to the cheers from locals as we rode past, to the town parties at the end of each day’s ride ensures that this event is pretty fun. Rather than bore you with too much narrative, I’ll let a few choice pictures tell this tale:

Early morning start



We set out VERY early to get to the town of our starting point. As we approached, the sun was rising and cyclists were already to be seen riding off in the distance.


Ragbrai 2010



We met up with a few friends and our roommate L. (left). For a number of reasons, L. needed a last minute bike so I gave her my Schwinn Le Tour GS that I had just gotten for Ragbrai and ended up using a loaner bike myself. The loaner bike was much too large for L. but only a bit out of my size range, so we made that swap to all be able to ride. I rode a vintage Takara and T. rode his Specialized Allez Epic. Our friend R. (far right) is riding his Trek all week – he’s in it for the long haul. Way to go, R.!


Iowa


Iowa


Water Slide



The majority of the ride was flat and on paved roads. The day was gorgeous; sunny with bright blue skies. We saw iconic Iowa landscapes – cornfields, windmills, rustic red barns, and many many signs lining the route telling riders of upcoming attractions, pit stops, and food options. Many signs boasted of home baked pies and cookies, iced lemonade, and Iowa sweet corn. Locals set up tables in their front lawns offering home-made goodies and water at low costs, often even treating riders to a refreshing shower of water from their garden hose. With the day’s highs hovering around 96 F, nothing beat riding through that squirt of cold water every so often.


T. does Ragbrai


S. does Ragbrai



Not only did so many friendly Iowans set up food shops, some even provided very convenient bathroom options al fresco.


When the need arises


Bathroom al Fresco



Between long stretches of fields, we would ride through a town. There, welcomed with signs, food, music, and makeshift water fountains, we would stretch our legs and take a short break.


L. does Ragbrai


Windmills in Iowa


Ragbrai Stop


 Impromptu Water Fountain



Our last stop was in Clear Lake, Iowa, where the cyclists set up tents and reached their sleeping accommodations for the night. Clear Lake’s downtown was packed with food and drink vendors and stages were being set up for live music to come. As soon as we got some food and water, however, we set out straight for the lake. Cycling clothes still on, we dove right in. After eight hours of being on the road, near 100 degree weather and sun, and 68 miles behind us, that lake swim felt like the best swim of my life.


Done!


Clear Lake Beach


Feet in the Sand


Boats



T. and I and our roomie L. had to leave Clear Lake that night and still make a long drive home. As exhausted as I was, I would have loved to be part of the cyclists setting up tents, awaiting the fireworks show, and enjoying a beer as the sun was setting – all the while knowing that the next day would bring another long bike ride and more new sights and adventures.

The day long ride was so much fun. While exhausting and at times daunting – when facing a hill with strong head winds and unmitigated sun glaring down on you – the ride nonetheless retained that aura of fun and adventure as most cyclists seemed to be in it for the enjoyment of it. Only a few raced by without as much as a nod – the majority smiled, said hello, rode with radios emitting music from their bikes, and paused for pictures along the way. Some wore costumes and rode off-beat contraptions. One couple pedaled in synch as the lovely notes of Miles Davis’ music filled the air around them. Some shared the work on tandem bikes, others hauled kids in trailers. The day felt like one huge (cycling) party.

I am so happy to have gotten to partake in one day of it and would love to do the entire week ride at some point in the future. I also think it’s a shame that more people outside of the Midwest don’t seem to have heard of this awesome event. Sure, you can trade facts about the Tour de France, but next time you want to impress your friends with your off-beat bike knowledge, let them know about Ragbrai and think about joining in yourself!


Cyclists on Break


Ragbrai Riders with Flair


Tall Ragbrai Rider
22 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 14:01

    I have been feeling very unmotivated about training for my century at the end of August, but my brief vacation + this post have made me want to get back on my bike, stat. Thanks for the inspiration! Can’t wait to read part two. :)

    • July 29, 2010 22:29

      Yay, glad to hear that. Can’t wait to hear about your ride, I now have added a century ride to my to-do list and can’t wait for the opportunity to partake in one.

  2. sara permalink
    July 29, 2010 14:03

    Gorgeous photos! I think it’s incredible that you’re doing this ride – so motivational and inspirational! Looking forward to part two, too!

    • July 29, 2010 22:29

      Thanks, Sara! It’s so nice of you to stop by here and support my bike site, I really appreciate that!

  3. Janni permalink
    July 29, 2010 17:21

    Einfach toll – da wäre ich gerne dabei gewesen! Schöne Bilder von einem hier in Deutschland tatsächlich völlig unbekannten Event!

    Ich bin ganz gespannt auf Part 2!!

    • July 29, 2010 22:30

      Danke! Es war wirklich super! Janni, warst du schon mal in den Staaten?

  4. July 29, 2010 19:15

    Your pictures make me want to be there. Fabulous photos. Any tips for riding that far for the first time? I am off next week on a bicycle tour, and would appreciate any suggestions you have to offer.
    TFS!

    • July 29, 2010 22:13

      Maureen – I would suggest taking breaks to rehydrate and replenish your glycemic levels with food every so often. Especially if it’s hot out. My legs were pretty ok with that sustained level of exercise because of the running I’ve done in the past, but I still made sure to eat a granola bar or some fruit every 10-15 miles and to drink plenty of water. That kept me from ever really ‘crashing’. And just go your pace, don’t go all out at the beginning which might cause you to burn out quickly and have no energy at the end.

      How long of a ride are you doing? Hope you have a fabulous bike tour! Good luck and have fun!

  5. July 30, 2010 03:28

    These photos are great. I love the details like the toilet paper rolls. Looks like an amazing experience, although 96 degrees in the direct sun sounds tough. You and your road bike look great.

  6. July 30, 2010 19:27

    Oh my, that is super impressive!
    So how was cycling with drop bars? Looks like you had no trouble at all!

    (And I love the Iowa countryside scenery.)

  7. July 31, 2010 20:09

    100 foot water slide!!

    • August 1, 2010 03:42

      I did not try it out! (It sounds as much scary as it may sound fun, and I’m not sure I’d have the guts to slide on one) :)

  8. August 1, 2010 10:39

    This looks like a great event, but the 70 miles would be a big challenge for me…someday.

    Two things: I am new to your site, but really enjoy it. I like how you get my mind into the pure fun of cycling. It has helped to get me back on my bike after a recent absence.

    Secondly, I just did a post as well using the Good, Bad & The Ugly. I didn’t notice it on your’s, but it is a cool coincidence.

    Again, great blog.

  9. August 15, 2010 18:58

    I’m so happy you enjoyed RAGBARI, because there is so much to love. I did my first one in the late 80’s then several more in the early and mid-90’s. I was able to do my first RAGBRAI in 13 years two summers ago and it was amazing. I didn’t wipe the smile off my face the entire week.

    • August 15, 2010 21:35

      Maria – I loved it! I’m definitely doing it again, hopefully the entire week-long ride the next time!

  10. October 20, 2014 08:23

    Sleeping Dogs Game Review At first this game puzzled me
    because I thought it was set in America. A lot of
    people are speaking in American accents. But it turns
    out Hong Kong is it’s actual setting (there’s even a British guy in there as
    well.) Spotting the genuine Asian person is the challenge.

    Anyway that doesn’t really matter, my job is to give you a game reviews
    light sprinkle of words and wisdom as to whether or not you should buy
    the game, so we shall begin. Straight away it gives signs of being
    heavily story orientated which is a good thing in my opinion! I like the story,
    I’m not going to give a big break down of the whole thing because that’s what makes Game Reviews long and
    I don’t want to spoil things for you. But, the story gets a thumbs up from me.
    I’ll talk about the things which I like about Sleeping Dogs, first
    off there is a pretty nifty game mechanic where you have 2 different experience systems.

    You gain experience as a cop and as a triad (saying
    cops and triads shouldn’t be a spoiler, you should be
    aware of this.) So you gain experience as a cop by completing undercover cop cases and not killing innocents and wrecking
    the place. You level up as a triad by beating down bad guys and the usual gang related things.
    I really like the combat though, the fist-fighting
    seems quite fluid and I actually get beaten a
    lot of the time which to me, shows that the combat
    is a challenge (which not a lot of games are these days.) The developers have done well to keep weapons out
    of your hands as much as possible. So you do have to fight with your
    fists most of the time, it makes a refreshing change from every man and his dog
    packing heat in other games. Things I don’t like so much about the game include – the graphics,
    they’re OK but that’s as good as they get.

    Also some of the driving controls are very unrealistic.

    I get that they wanted to put some extreme stuff in there, like hijacking cars by jumping out
    of one and into the other, fine. But ramming other cars
    is just plain bad, there’s a button to ram car’s and when you press the button you seem to get a boost of speed in the direction of the car you want to ram.
    I mean ANY direction, even if it’s parallel to your car,
    it’s bad design in my opinion. Finally the only other gripe I have is the fact
    that every female you meet in Sleeping Dogs wants to be intimate with you as soon as they meet you.
    Now I’ve heard a few things about Hong Kong but this is just starting to look
    like Bangkok. Video Game Review Conclusion Overall I think its a good game, you’ll get a lot of hours of game play for your
    money and it’s very entertaining with a good story.

Trackbacks

  1. Ragbrai – the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly {Part II} « Simply Bike
  2. Friday Favorites – 8/6/10 « KateOhKatie blogs
  3. Ragbrai: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly {Part III} « Simply Bike
  4. upcoming event: high trestle trail ride « Simply Bike
  5. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike
  6. Different Strokes for Different Folks | mountainize.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers