Skip to content

bikes and photography

August 9, 2010

Bike blogs are very visual. It’s only natural that a genre dedicated to discussing life on two wheels would gravitate towards a gratuitous use of images capturing that thrill of getting out there and enjoying life in motion.

One reoccurring type of ‘image in motion’ is the arm’s length portrait; often referred to as the Panda shot. As much as I love some of the creative ways people have artfully styled and photographed their bikes in front of stunning landscapes, I think my favorite type of bike photography at the moment is this fleeting and incomplete look at a rider and their bicycle that comes from a quick snap from an outstretched hand. Here are some of my favorite Pandas from Flickr:

{source: a.pic.a.day}

{source: a.pic.a.day}

{source: meligrosa}

{source: meligrosa}

Duck

{source: uetchen}

I’m feeling inspired by all of these images to collect a Panda series of my own. What’s your favorite kind of photography and why do you love it so much? S.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 20:53

    What a great collection! I have to admit that panda shots aren’t something I’ve tried yet, but that’s a deficiency that I think I should correct pretty soon. :-)

  2. August 10, 2010 02:38

    I do love the bike/scenery pictures. I do think traveling on a bicycle we notice so many more things than we would in a car, and can focus on the beauty around us a lot more. Most of the panda shots I’ve tried have are not worthy of sharing.

  3. annegret permalink
    August 10, 2010 10:10

    I love Pandas too. And shots of kids on bikes. Plus, I started to collect pictures of (plastic) animals on bikes.

    • August 10, 2010 13:20

      Anne – those are great! I spotted a ton of those in Munich, not so many here. I was tempted to get myself one of the Maus from “Sendung mit der Maus” that I always loved as a child. They had that little yellow Maus as bike horn at my local grocery store.

  4. Diana permalink
    August 10, 2010 13:50

    I never knew that’s what they were called, but panda photos are my favorite photos to take while on my bike as well.

  5. August 10, 2010 19:10

    How funny, I took my first panda shot today! I was cycling down a country road when a line of ducks waddled across the road in front of me, so I whipped my camera out for that, and while I had it in my hand and there were no cars around I just decided to take one. It didn’t turn out great, I think I need to practise.

  6. August 11, 2010 03:53

    These are fab and inspiring! I’ll try to remember to take a panda of myself tomorrow and post it in your honor.

  7. August 12, 2010 10:48

    Fun to come across my own pictures on your blog! Thank you for posting them.

    I’ve been taking panda shots for years:
    rain or sunshine,
    winter boots or flip flops,
    jeans or colored stockings,
    europe or asia,
    sand or pavement

    … theoretically you could take a different and original panda-shot everyday… maybe that’s why I like it so much!

    • August 12, 2010 12:52

      Marielle, thanks for stopping by and for your comment! I love your photography on Flickr and you have the best Panda shots, I’m now taking a lot more to have a little collection documenting my bike commutes through different seasons and settings. But it does take some practice to get those good angles. Thanks for the wonderful inspiration!

  8. August 14, 2010 23:38

    panda fever!! thanks for the mention luv <3 super sweet of ya
    self-shots on bikes +women +motion +memories = fantastic!

    **much bikey LUV from SF**
    MUAHHHHHH! xxo.meli

  9. August 18, 2010 13:38

    Hey, so glad I found your blog via Dottie’s post. I must try the panda tonight! Great pictures and blog. I’ll be stopping by :)

    Are you on Twitter? I’ve started a list — some of my fave biking bloggers. Enjoy your day.

Trackbacks

  1. “Excessive Heat Warning” Commute | Zombiebikes.com
  2. Link Love: August 15, 2010 | Smiles Go With Everything
  3. “Some fun things are hard” | Smiles Go With Everything
  4. “Some fun things are hard” | Smiles Go With Everything

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers