Skip to content

reveries

October 16, 2010

I’ve been hit with a severe bout of nostalgia lately. But writing about it (and digging up old pictures) helps. The cliché is right; writing is cathartic. So here it goes: some of my favorite memories from the past year in Germany were made when my husband came to visit and we got to explore places together.

During last year’s visit in November I got to introduce him to one of my favorite things about German culture: the Christmas markets. We explored the quaint little Christkindlmarkt in Salzburg and the much larger one in Munich. I think T. drank his weight in Glühwein and I ate my weight in Schneebälle (pictured below)…

Schneebälle
Salzburg Christkindlmarkt

As the winter season approaches, I miss the festivities of a Christmas market in the center of town. I miss walking thought it on the way home, treating myself to roasted chestnuts or some sweet doughy concoction and the hot delicious goodness that is spiced wine.

Glühwein

München Christkindlmarkt

Salzburg

If you’re lucky enough to live near or in Chicago, check out the largest Christmas market in the US. Dottie, of Let’s Go Ride A Bike, explored it last year and posted many beautiful pictures. Judging from those, the market seems like it could easily be transplanted into any German or Austrian town and fit right in.

Another thing I miss about living in Germany is how easily I could hop on a train and get to another country. When T. came this past spring, we purchased a Bavaria-Bohemia ticket and within hours (and only 35 Euros later), we found ourselves in the heart of Prague.

Prague - Charles' Bridge

Prague is like a storybook city with beautiful buildings and stunning architectural décor. One of my favorite things was renting bikes and touring the city that way.

Prague

Prague

Prague

Prague

If you were to immerse yourself in reverie, where would your mind take you this weekend? Where have you spent some of your favorite moments?

Prague on Two Wheels

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2010 17:58

    Aw, now you’ve gone and gotten me all nostalgic as well. Growing up in Munich, the Christkindlmarkt was a yearly tradition. We children each got to pick out an ornament and warm our hands on piping steaming chesnuts.

    And now I live in Chicago and can’t wait for the Christkindlmarkt here to open for the season!

    Hi, by the way, I’m sort of new here. Love your blog!

    • October 17, 2010 13:56

      Thanks, Katrina, and welcome! I’m so jealous that you get to enjoy the Chicago Christkindlmarkt – it looks like a lot of fun. Do they have Heisse Maroni there? I got addicted to those this last winter. My husband tried them for the first time and at first he wasn’t quite sure what to make of the texture. But by the end of his visit, he was equally hooked. Mmmm….Maroni…. :)

  2. October 16, 2010 19:14

    writing is def. great therapy and Im glad you share these special and fun trips with us. you and your hubby make such great couple, I havent been to Germany but I’d like to visit soon – Europe is calling my name =)
    cheers and blog on sister!! xoxxo.m

    • October 17, 2010 13:54

      Thanks, Meli! T. is definitely the best husband ever, we have so much fun together. And Europe is a great place to explore – I would love to see it captured through the lens of Meligrosa!! :)

  3. Donna permalink
    October 17, 2010 12:22

    The bells of Regensburg are calling my name. The sights of the city, the sounds of feet walking along the cobblestones and of course opening day at the Christmas market. Thanksgiving week has never been the same since my visit there two years ago.

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and have enjoyed seeing all the pictures and reading about your travels in Europe. Thanks for sharing!

    • October 17, 2010 13:53

      Donna, I was in Regensburg for the first time this Spring and it was beautiful! I didn’t know what to expect but it was a lovely city and the Altstadt was so pretty. I can see how you loved living there. S.

  4. October 17, 2010 16:12

    Germany looks so lively and beautiful. I can see why you miss it. I’m definitely missing France and especially Paris. Europe has such a different approach to lifestyle and public space – a better approach, in most ways.

  5. October 17, 2010 18:50

    My wife and I lived in Paris a few years back and went to Strasbourg for their Christmas market. Definitely had a lot of fun.

  6. October 17, 2010 23:36

    I’m deep in thought about where I’d like to be right now…AND wishing you a Christmas Market nearby!

  7. October 18, 2010 10:33

    Your photos make me starving!
    I’m eager for Christmas markets. Here in Catalunya they are similar than in the rest of Europe, and I absolutely love it.

    A place where I’ve spend a lot of memorable moments is Coulliure, in France.

  8. October 18, 2010 18:14

    I miss this:

    I have lived many lives.

    Gediminas Street/Cathedral

    Cathedral at Christmas

    Gediminas Street

    Everything is ok...

    On Verkiai Estate

    Trees Frozen Solid.

    Christmas just doesn’t seem right without cold and snow, which is my one weather-related complaint about Portland.

    There’s something so nice about getting all bundled up (in about 5 layers of clothing), walking quickly where you need to go, stopping into a cafe to have some hot tea and let your nose and ears thaw, and then walking again as quickly as possible back home. In winter in Lithuania once it gets really cold (-20 C), you usually don’t stay outside any longer than you need to, as some days it can be a bit hard to breathe with the wind and the cold, facial hair freezes instantly – but it is gorgeous, and it feels so good to come back inside and warm up after that! Most of the winter it’s more like -10 C, so it’s manageable, and as opposed to Portland, there are so many bright, clear days in winter in Lithuania, and everything just sparkles because it’s frozen solid :)

    I miss walking up Gedimino Prospektas (the main street running out from the Cathedral in Vilnius) at night and hearing the bells (real ones!) chiming. I miss our funny landlord with fuzzy hair coming to our apartment and putting tape around all the windows (to keep drafts out), and remarking how “strong” our homemade chili was as he was wiping his forehead off :)

    I miss ice-cream vendors on every street corner in the summer, and going to Trakai castle 30 minutes bus ride away (castle on an island in the middle of three lakes) and sitting under the trees and not caring what time it was.

    I miss living in a place where people come together regularly in public space just in simple ways like having outdoor markets at different seasons and where there were things like that you could just stop by on your way to wherever you were going. I miss living in a place where there are enough people out and about in the city year-round to even make having a public market like this worthwhile.

    Which reminds me… now that fresh apple cider is abundant, and I’ve been thinking about making mulled wine a few times already, I need to go buy some pfeffernussen :)

    • October 19, 2010 01:26

      Dave -t his comment is so beautifully written. It brings to mind so many lovely images, I can just picture life in Lithuania. When I lived in Salzburg, I had quite a few neighbors in my dorm (all female dorm, so all girls) who were Lithuanian and in Salzburg for the Experimental Dance School. They gave me the impression that all women in Lithuania are beautiful and lithe dancers :) so I’ve had this skewed yet very romantic impression of the country ever since. I hope to one day visit it in person!

      Thanks for sharing your memories of it here with us!

  9. Dave permalink
    October 19, 2010 03:20

    Lithuanians do seem to be into dance – I remember a ballroom dancing competition show that was always on TV :)

    There are some things about the culture we don’t like, and we’ve decided we don’t want to live there again, but still that year there was a very important time in our lives, and there were many things we loved about it. It has shaped who we are now in so many ways, and I’m sure we will be back to visit many more times.

    Vilnius is a gorgeous city, one of the most strikingly beautiful we’ve ever seen. You definitely should visit :)

Trackbacks

  1. control…an oh so elusive thing « Simply Bike
  2. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers