Skip to content

fall cycling in style

October 21, 2010

Fall Cycling

An oldie but a goodie: how to dress for fall cycling.

Wise words, I especially second the gloves suggestion!

Click on the image to get to the outfit details, if you are so inclined. Click here for more bike-friendly outfit ideas. Happy cycling!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 02:39

    This outfit is perfect! You couldn’t get more fall-like – even your bike matches. This is exactly the type of “back to school” look I drooled over when reading Seventeen magazine back in the day. I can’t help but think that your younger self would be so impressed :)

    • October 21, 2010 02:49

      Dottie, thank you! I think it wouldn’t have taken much to impress my younger self. Back in the day when I was reading Seventeen religiously, I had a major case of dorkiness going on. I thank the lord that every year I get older, I get a little bit farther away from the awkward horrible mess I was as a teen.

  2. October 21, 2010 04:47

    I have such a difficult time picturing you as ‘awkward’ or a ‘horrible mess’! You always look adorable, put together, and completely in fashion. I second Dottie’s thoughts that you look like a perfect, Fall picture.

    • October 21, 2010 12:24

      G.E. – let me help you out: picture a lanky awkward girl with frizzy hair and bushy eyebrows (I had no clue how to style my naturally curly hair, so I’d brush it out) with a gap between her front teeth. I got braces as a freshman in college (we couldn’t afford them before that) and that didn’t score me any points with the undergrad males either :) Definitely not Seventeen material!

      • October 21, 2010 16:02

        Ugh! I hear you on the frizzy hair and bushy eyebrows. I experienced the same thing (it came from the Italian half of the family). When I was a child, my mom used to just brush, and brush, and brush my hair. The poor thing had no idea how to deal with curly hair (not that I was much better until I discovered there were products to solve such issues). As for the eyebrows, it took me awhile to get bold enough to do something about them, but it definitely made a difference. I forget about how thick they were until I see pictures from high school and I wonder, “What was I thinking?!”

        Unfortunately, I had the opposite problem of being lanky… but then again, I still do! I suppose I can’t change my height, or apparently, even my thickness. :)

  3. October 21, 2010 09:05

    ohhh what a nice style.very cool and calme culture.

  4. October 21, 2010 16:00

    I love that jacket, looks kind of rustic, and it just fits the outfit and the the season perfectly.

    I have several sort of “levels” of outer clothing (coats, hats, gloves, etc) that I can swap out as the weather gets colder – some knit wool gloves for fall, then some leather ones for winter, a corduroy jacket for fall, and a couple different wool coats of differing lengths and weights for winter. A couple of cotton scarves for fall, and a good wool one for winter. Wool flat cap and fedoras for fall, knit wool cap with ear flaps (from Lithuania) for winter :) And of course my wife working at a sock store means I also have a good variety of socks to wear for different seasons as well :)

    The only thing I really need is a really good, sturdy, completely waterproof pair of boots. If anyone has a recommendation on nice looking men’s boots that could potentially go with a suit or something nice, but still are hefty and waterproof, that’d be great!

  5. October 21, 2010 22:46

    Ooh, very smart, fall look for the bicycle. Sort of New England-y. I like very much.

  6. October 22, 2010 02:11

    Can’t wait for Fall down here on the Gulf Coast. When it cools down it’s so nice to be able to wear “going out” clothes to the restaurant, bar, movie theatre, etc. You look very classy in the picture!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers