Skip to content

stitch ‘n bitch: the knitted bicycle

October 24, 2010

{image source}

A friend of mine is going to teach me to knit; we’re thinking of starting our own little stitch ‘n bitch for two. The idea of getting together for a night every week or two for tea, knitting, and good conversation has me extremely excited. Which just goes to show that it’s not the location that makes a place as much as the people you meet and friendships you forge while there.

And so, in preparation for our knitting project, I thought I’d google for some ideas. I typed the words “bicycle knitting pattern” just for fun and came across this awesome image (above). A knitted bicycle! I’m not sure what you’d do with it and how to even begin making something this elaborate, but it sure as hell beats the little stick-figure bicycle I was envisioning embroidering to the end of my beginner-level scarf.

Is it just me or do you find yourself doodling bikes, looking for bike themed cards, and searching for bike related embroidery patterns when you’re not actually riding your bike? Please tell me I’m not alone on this one.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2010 16:33

    Horray for learning to knit! I am forever stalking knitting/bicycling projects. There are patterns for all manner of extremity-warmers, seat covers and so on… but maybe something easy to start with it some colourful bunting for your baset or to hang from the back of your seat? You could make them seasonal or just plain and embroider some slogans on them.

    It’s always fun to meet up and knit. Hope you have a good time :)

  2. October 24, 2010 16:52

    How fantastic! A friend who used to come to my knitting group was planning to decorate her bike with colourful knitted tubes (knitted flat then sewn together around the bits of the bike) which would have much the same effect but actually be functional – why not knit decorations for your bike?

    Do you know about Ravelry? It’s a social networking site for knitters and crocheters with a huge pattern/project database and discussion forums for pretty much anything you can think about.

    • October 24, 2010 18:00

      Wow, thanks for the link! I didn’t know about it and it looks wonderful!

  3. October 24, 2010 17:01

    A knitted bicycle! Perfect. I think an embroidered bicycle on a scarf would be so fab. I went to one of those paint your own pottery places and painted a bicycle on a plate. Definitely always looking for little ways to add bicycles to my life.

    I love that you are going to learn to knit. You are going to love it!

  4. kateohkatie permalink
    October 24, 2010 20:18

    Why do I feel compelled to start chanting “one of us! one of us! one of us!”? That can’t be a good thing. :-D

    Enjoy your foray into knitting – I think you’ll really enjoy it! If you do join Ravelry, look me up – I’m kateohkatie on there, too.

  5. October 25, 2010 00:02

    I love to knit, crochet also. I think some nice scarves for cycling, and then some cute hats. Can’t wait to see what you come up with! I am much better able to relax, and focus when I am knitting or crocheting. ENJOY YOUR NEW FOUND HOBBY. Oh, also on ravelry – desperateknitte

  6. October 25, 2010 10:59

    Awesome idea! You gotta see the video “There’s a flower in my pedal”. It’s about cycling and knitting. I posted it some time last year, click here to see it.

  7. October 25, 2010 15:53

    I am always noticing (err looking for) cutesy bike products too! Just last night I came across a bundle of lined notebook paper with little bikes printed in the margins – so cute!

    Have fun with your stitch’n’bitch! hehe :-)

  8. Donna permalink
    October 25, 2010 16:16

    I love biking in chilly weather and wearing my hand knitted socks, mittens, cowls, and berets to keep toasty warm. Knitting is so much fun, but watch out. It can be highly addictive. As mentioned earlier check out ravelry. There are tons of patterns and ideas for projects, along with bicycle chat groups to join.

    No, you are not alone when it comes to finding bicycle related goodies. My obsession is searching for bike related jewelry.

  9. erinsuzanne permalink
    October 25, 2010 23:41

    I just bought a set of bicycle-etched pint glasses, and I’ve been collecting bicycle-themed prints (my living room wall is going to have a bunch of bike prints up, once I get frames for all of them). I also just found bicycle-pring pajamas…apparently it isn’t just you;)

    Love the knitted bicycle…good luck with the knitting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers