Skip to content

chicago, bikes, and fun

November 8, 2010

Dottie and Greg of Let's Go Ride a Bike

I spent this weekend in Chicago with the infamous Dottie and Greg of Let’s Go Ride a Bike. They were incredible hosts who took me to amazing restaurants, awesome attractions, a great bike film, one of the best theater performances I’ve seen yet, and just about anywhere else we could get on bikes. (For a complete list of places we visited, see Dottie’s post). What can I say? The weekend was amazing!

I will write a longer post about my impressions of cycling in Chicago – In November! – soon. For now, I’m too exhausted to leave you with anything more than the pictures I took while there and the assurance that yes, cycling Chicago is doable and incredibly fun, and yes, even in the cold and in November. I wouldn’t have changed a thing about my trip – thank you so much, Dottie and Greg!

Cycling Chicago in November

Oma and Betty.

Navy Pier.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 02:41

    It looks like you had a very nice time! Chicago looks so scenic, with vivid blue skies and water. Great photos! TFS!

  2. November 8, 2010 03:48

    So glad you got to see and ride bikes in Chicago with Dottie. My husband was in Chicago at the end of August on a business trip and took photos of some of the places & scenery I recognized from reading LGRAB. Can’t wait to read more of your impressions about riding bikes in the city of Chicago. And, since I went MTB today it was great to read on LGRAB that you both saw the film Race Against the Sky. :)

  3. November 8, 2010 13:37

    Chicago misses you! :)

  4. Jennifer permalink
    November 8, 2010 19:26

    You and Betty look so at home together. I’m glad you enjoyed your trip.

  5. November 8, 2010 23:49

    Very cool! It’s neat seeing you in landscape that we would normally see LGRAB/Dottie in!

  6. Harry H permalink
    November 9, 2010 08:33

    What did you think of the Betty Foy?

    • November 9, 2010 17:17

      Harry H – the Betty Foy was great – a sturdy and stable bike while still being pretty nimble and fast. It felt much larger to me than my current daily bike – a 1968 Raleigh Sports – which surprised me. From pictures, I had expected the two bikes to be pretty similar. They both have all steel bodies, curved handlebars, one’s a mixte and the other a step-through but with a pretty similar frame look, so I thought they would be pretty comparable. But the vintage Sports feels smaller (the handlebars are much narrower) and shorter (frame length from one wheel to another). I think I prefer the smaller bike only because I’m so used to it now. But the Betty was comfortable, quick, sturdy, and very aesthetically pleasing :)

      The only draw-back: the front wheel isn’t locked and so it turns to the right or left when parked and makes it tough to keep in place (I’m not sure if I’m explaining this well…do you get what I mean?) My cruiser was like that and it is a bit of a nuisance. But this is something Dottie also dislikes and is looking to change. It sounds like it’s a simple matter of inserting a spring (??) and getting the wheel to become locked in so that it remains forward facing when stopped and parked.

      Having owned and experienced bikes with that locked front wheel and without, I would say that makes a big difference, especially if you have a front basket, which throws off the center of gravity. If it is only a small matter of adding a part to make it rigid, I would hugely recommend that!

  7. November 14, 2010 19:49

    Love that you guys got to ride together. That is so fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers