Skip to content

the longest bike ride

February 6, 2011

Snow Trek with Bike

This bike ride started on Monday and ended on Friday. And no, before you think I pulled off some week-long marathon trek through the snow, let me explain. I rode to work on Monday morning, was forced to leave my bike on campus for the duration of the snow storm that hit us (including a snow day on Wednesday, during which campus and many business closed), to finally be able to ride it home on Friday, when some of the snow melted and the roads were (somewhat) cleared again.

This is what my poor bike looked like on Friday, after a week of campus dwelling…

Snowed in Bike

Winter has been really unpredictable for cycling and if there is one thing I have learned this season is to just enjoy each day that makes cycling possible and to relax when it isn’t. Some days I can hop on my bike and ride, and on other days, it’s just not possible. Winter cycling really forces you to take a deep breath, relax, and go with the flow.

I’m also happy with my decision to put my nicer bikes in storage and to use my mountain bike for the time being. It makes decisions like last Monday’s – abandoning my bike outside of my office for a week – not very painful ones. Not because of theft (that’s not really an issue here) but because of the wear and tear that comes with winter riding. Or rather – not riding – when your bike gets abandoned under a heap of snow to only be dug out a week later. Poor, poor Nerp.

I miss my lovely vintage bikes but I know they’re better off protected at home for now. And the wider mountain bike tires also makes riding on terrain such as this much more feasable…

My winter bike

This weekend I’ve been back on the bike, riding to work for those obligatory few hours in the office, and enjoying the sunshine despite the cold. I’m hoping that this coming week fares better than the last. But hey, if it doesn’t, I’ll ride when I can and won’t when I can’t…that’s winter cycling for you. Stay warm out there! ~ S.

Snowy Bike Ride

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2011 19:17

    S, you are a real trooper! You’ve got a great attitude towards winter, cycling, and life! Hope you get the weather you wish for!

  2. February 7, 2011 04:43

    I love your c’est la vie attitude towards cycling in winter! I always feel helpless and sort of annoyed at the elements, which doesn’t do anybody much good. You’re teaching me that it’s OKAY if I’m snowed in. Just deal with it!

    S*

  3. LBJ permalink
    February 7, 2011 21:34

    I’ve been riding my bike to work this winter too – one day last week, I rode, and in retrospect, it probably wasn’t the best/safest thing I could have done. But by the time I realized this, it was easier just to keep going than to turn around. One thing that was nice though is that I don’t have to worry about leaving my bike outside, since it’s a folding bike. Before I got this one, I had to leave my bike outside, and it got so rusty with the salt and ice that it pretty much died. Now I have this one: http://www.montaguebikes.com/boston-folding-single-speed-bike.html, I love it, and I don’t have to worry about locking it outside and having the winter weather destroy it.

  4. February 8, 2011 04:57

    A great approach to riding in the winter! That’s the kind of attitude that’s necessary to get through a midwestern winter and not hate your bike at the end of it. :)

  5. AcademicUnChic permalink
    February 8, 2011 05:48

    Not about winter riding but here to ask: have you heard about this film: http://www.withmyowntwowheels.org/ and the projects in the film http://www.withmyowntwowheels.org/next-pedalstroke/? The bici maquinas featured in the film just made my day!

    It would be so great if the bikechic community got involved with some of this.

    • February 13, 2011 06:17

      AcademiUnChic – thanks for the link! This looks awesome, I wish I could see the film! So far it looks like the only screenings were in California, do you know whether there are plans to show it in other places around the US?

      • AcademicUnChic permalink
        February 13, 2011 07:11

        The film makers said they would welcome any and all chances to show the film at a variety of locations. Check out their FB page – it has more information on screenings.

        http://www.facebook.com/pages/With-My-Own-Two-Wheels/191225577569712?v=info

        It would be so cool if all of us with multiple and/or fancy bikes and the various bikechicistas would join the World Bicycle Relief effort – one bike is just $134…See the next steps link on the film’s own website.

  6. February 9, 2011 00:06

    Awww…Poor Nerp, I think he’s such a white knight (literally) for braving the elements for a week waiting for his lovely gentlewoman to pick him up. Sorry, I have to stop reading all those classic romantic novels :).

    You have a wonderful attitude…thanks for making me feel better about not riding this week… so far.

Trackbacks

  1. No. More. Snow. Please? | Zombiebikes.com
  2. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers