Skip to content

half way there to our own bike share program

June 22, 2011

Bike to lunch

After Saturday’s baby shower, we got to enjoy some additional time with our friends from out of town. Lucky for us, they were all game for a bike ride and were more than happy to borrow a bike in order for us to ride to a local café for lunch. Good thing T. and I have accumulated something close to a personal bike share program in our garage because we were able to round up the five bikes needed for our group and in a size that fit everyone pretty comfortably.

Bike to lunch Bike to lunch

So off we went along neighborhood route to a café with outdoor seating so that we could continue to enjoy the nice weather. We stretched lunch into a three hour affair, enjoyed some seasonal fares like strawberry rhubarb crepes with fruit from a local berry farm, and caught up on stories and life news.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crepes

Lunch Outdoors

Bike to lunch

And then we biked home to shape the evening’s plans. It was so enjoyable to be able to share my daily life with my friends while they were in town and riding bikes is a big part of that. So it was even better that I was able to show them the town from the perspective that I usually get when riding to campus, the coffee shop, and home. And although we often joke about how we have a tiny bit of bike addiction and T. and I are constantly trying to cut back on the amount of bikes in our garage, it is nice to have that spare bike sitting around for when visitors come.

While I joke that we now have something close to a bike share program, our holdings are still pretty humble. For a true home-run bike share, check out what co-blogger Xander of 416 cyclestyle has done in order to get more of his friends and relatives on a bike. He accumulated a bunch of inexpensive bikes, fixed them up, and started an actual bike share program out of his own garage to serve his family and community. I love the idea and the generosity behind it. Would you ever consider opening your garage up to your community and creating something to this effect?

If you’re interested in starting your own mini bike share, check out the article on The Urban Country to read more about how Xander approached this project.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 13:47

    that is so awesome! we have a small bike share program too! and we have such a tiny little house!! we really need to move to a house with a garage :) i would love to walk into our garage and just sit and pick which bike to ride that day! i would feel like some sort of bike pimp!!! hehe

    xo,
    cb

  2. Melissa @ HerGreenLife permalink
    June 22, 2011 14:05

    This is something I wish I could do whenever my family comes to visit. It feels so strange driving everywhere when they are here, since that is usually NOT how I experience St. Louis. For better or worse, we only have one spare bike right now, so it’s pretty hard to accommodate multiple people.

  3. Laura permalink
    June 22, 2011 14:14

    Everything about this post is so awesome, including the crepes! I wish I had as many bikes as you do and room to store them so that I could copycat your impromptu bike share program.

  4. June 22, 2011 15:06

    some big cities should take after you ladies.

  5. June 22, 2011 16:29

    After my Schwinn got mutilated on the street, I realized we should try to get a 3rd bike. I wouldn’t have freaked out as bad if I had an extra one. (I’m not comfortable riding my husband’s and it’s HIS anyway!) I’m just going to keep my thrifty-eye out for one and maybe try entering some contests to win one.

  6. June 23, 2011 19:53

    Nice! You should probably get 1 or 2 more bikes, just in case more friends come visit next time. Better safe than sorry. :)

Trackbacks

  1. foto friday: cycling at 35 weeks pregnant « Simply Bike
  2. Simply Bike » foto friday: cycling at 35 weeks pregnant

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers