Skip to content

Welcome to Simply Bike

June 16, 2010


My name is S. and I currently live in the Midwest.  I am originally from Romania and came to the US by way of Germany and Canada. I am a visiting lecturer at a large research university and am happily married with one crazy dog and one even crazier cat.

I started blogging in January 2009 when two good friends of mine and I founded the site academichic. Through the medium of style blogging, I discovered a plethora of interesting and inspiring sites of which a handful were of the bike variety. This latter group,  merging style and aesthetics with a focus on cycling and sustainable living practices, gave me an increasing sense of agency and power in charting the kind of life I wanted to live.

During this same time, summer of 2009, I dusted off my old Mongoose mountain bike and started biking around the small university town that my husband called home. (During the academic year, I was living in a much larger urban environment where I was pursuing my degree and which seemed to me much too intimidating to be explored by bike). But by the end of that summer, I was hooked.

I then moved to Munich, Germany for an academic research year and discovered what an extremely bike friendly urban space looks like. Having seen what is possible, I want to bring that cycling lifestyle to the US, hoping to inspire others to regard cycling as a valid, practical, and stylish mode of everyday transportation.

While I continue to collaborate with my good friends A. and E. over at academichic on matters of fashion and feminism in academia, I decided that I needed a space where I could contemplate my role in the cycling community while also gushing uninhibitedly about just how much fun I’m having riding my bike. I still ride my Mongoose mountain bike from time to time, but am now mostly to be spotted riding a mint green Electra Hawaii cruiser, aptly named Mojito, that my husband scored for me on Craigslist.

Simply Bike is a place where I hope to merge photography from my daily rides with musings on bike commuting, bike advocacy, style, and healthy living –  hopefully sparking conversations with others interested in cycling and eco-friendly living practices. I strongly believe that the personal is political and that our daily choices impact the world on a much greater scale than we perhaps realize.

So grab a coffee, pull up a chair, and stay a while. I’d love to hear your thoughts and get to know you if you’re here. Thanks for visiting Simply Bike and please leave your input in the comments section. And, of course, ride on!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Tizzle-T permalink
    June 16, 2010 20:04

    Awesome blog!!

  2. June 17, 2010 00:29

    I love it!! I’m already inspired to ride!

  3. sundaze permalink
    June 25, 2010 13:44

    Love it! I own a crusier too! I’m a new cyclist, having never learned to ride as a child (insert overprotective mother antecdote here). Looking forward to following this blog.

  4. MissLanae permalink
    June 25, 2010 14:13

    So glad you started this up! I’m looking forward to future posts. I grew up in NM, but now live in Amsterdam and thoroughly enjoy living my life on my bike.

  5. June 25, 2010 14:33

    So excited to follow along! I <3 bicycles!

  6. June 25, 2010 14:35

    Awesome! I set up a separate blog from Fashionable Academics a couple of weeks ago for running, food, etc. I’m enjoying both and will add your blog to my new blog’s links right now.

  7. June 25, 2010 14:49

    yay, i’m excited! consider me your newest follower.

  8. June 25, 2010 15:25

    Yay! I just bought my first new bike (a Globe) and I’m addicted to cycling now! I’ll definitely be following your adventures here, and I love reading Academichic.

  9. June 25, 2010 15:34

    Love the new blog! I’ve recently gotten into biking and also started a blog. I’m always glad to find new bike blogs :) Going to add this to my list right now!

  10. June 25, 2010 15:40

    Wow, thank you for such an enthusiastic welcoming of my new site – this is so nice! For those of you who also have bike blogs, I’ll be sure to add you to the blog roll. I’m really excited about this site and am so thrilled to have so many great initial responses! S.

  11. coley permalink
    June 25, 2010 16:00

    if i could i’d own a dozen cruisers, i would. for now, i will continue to love and cherish my electra amsterdam.

    oh man, you have to check this blog……………. be.uti.ful.

    http://www.rockpaperscissor.com/blog/archives/2487

  12. Lori permalink
    June 25, 2010 16:37

    I love academichic and have always enjoyed yours posts in cycling, so I’m excited for your new blog. I have a blue Electra Amsterdam cruiser (nicknamed Lady Blue) that my husband got me last year for my birthday. I’ve begun commuting by bicycle and am having a blast.

  13. kateohkatie permalink
    June 25, 2010 18:19

    Love this new site! I’m a St. Louis area cyclist too so I’ll definitely be checking in here often (oh, and I’ll link to this new blog on my Friday Favorites this evening/tomorrow, as well) :-)

  14. Patricia permalink
    June 25, 2010 22:13

    Congratulations on your new blog! I look forward to catching up when I return from our family biking holiday – we leave tomorrow for Passau, Germany and will ride in 6 days to Vienna, along the Danube. We currently live in Budapest, in the Buda hills – I have my bike with me but definitely wouldn’t use it here to run errands. Too much crazy traffic! Plus, I’m not fit enough for the hills. However, when we return to Canada next year I should be able to get out on the bike more. I check out Academichic every day and look forward to following you here too.

  15. June 25, 2010 22:53

    Patricia – that sounds like an amazing holiday! I’m so jealous! S.

  16. June 26, 2010 01:26

    My poor Electra cruiser only comes out at events where I have to start and stop a lot. It has cruiser brakes so I can use my hands to shoot pictures. I am afraid I think of it as a moving tripod : ) I need to take it out and give it a little respect.

    Keep writing! The more the merrier!

  17. June 26, 2010 03:55

    Awesome! I’m excited about this new blog, since you’re already one of my favorite bloggers via Academichic. I look forward to all of your bike stories :)

    Love the name!

  18. June 26, 2010 05:41

    Sounds very interesting. Looking forward to see more :)

  19. June 26, 2010 13:36

    Thanks, ladies!

    Adrienne – ha! I can see the moving tripod part! It is funny how big and steady it is without much work on your part. I think that’s what I love about it. :)

  20. mooie fietsen permalink
    June 26, 2010 22:05

    Hooray for the new blog and I look forward to reading of your adventures on your new Mojito! I’ve been living in Holland for almost two car-fee years. We’re moving back to Texas shortly, and I will have to have a car there but will bicycle for most trips. My rides: an orange bakfiets for kid-toting and a classic black Dutch omafiets for when I’m not in need of huge carrying capacity. Happy riding!

  21. June 28, 2010 14:58

    Welcome! I’m very excited for this blog.

  22. Maureen permalink
    July 1, 2010 03:45

    So excited about the new blog, and delighted for you and your new bike! I also have a cruiser…same color…and have been searching for a basket!

    • July 1, 2010 15:41

      Thanks and welcome!

      As for the basket, I just picked this one because it sounded good online but am now so pleased with this purchase and couldn’t be happier that I went with this over another one…I posted a link and some thoughts on this Electra basket in this post, in case you’re interested:

      https://simplybike.wordpress.com/2010/06/30/a-cruiser-is-not-a-mule/

      • July 2, 2010 03:47

        You totally inspired me to not just look, but purchase a wicker basket today, and begin a blog.
        May I link your blog to mine in my soon to be blog roll?
        Thanks…can’t wait to read more..
        Maureen, who has the sibling of your
        electra.

        http://www.inspiredcyclists.wordpress.com

      • July 2, 2010 13:11

        Maureen – yay!! Can’t wait to see your site and be Electra twins online :) I’m honored that I helped inspire the blog and would be thrilled to be on the blogroll, thank you!

  23. July 3, 2010 03:26

    Thanks S! You truly have inspired me…
    Check my blog to see pics if you can.

Trackbacks

  1. Introducing: Simply Bike : academichic
  2. Friday Favorites – 6/26/10 « KateOhKatie blogs

Leave a Reply

