Skip to content

I think we’re alone now

June 26, 2010

For some reason, my husband decided to play Tiffany’s 80s hit I think we’re alone now for me on YouTube yesterday morning, so that’s pretty much what I had running through my head as I cycled around town, to the library for work, and around campus. And, for the most part, we were alone – my bike and I – and blissfully so…



{Running just as fast as we can
Holdin’ on to one another’s hand
Tryin’ to get away into the night
And then you put your arms around me
And we tumble to the ground
And then you say…}



{I think we’re alone now
There doesn’t seem to be anyone around
I think we’re alone now
The beating of our hearts is the only sound}



{I think we’re alone now
There doesn’t seem to be anyone around
I think we’re alone now…}

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2010 15:31

    A couple of things.

    1. You may not be aware so I’m sending this along. The RSS feed (google reader) is chopping each of your pictures and it’s comment into a separate “post”. i don’t know if it’s some setting in wordpress or wordpress and google reader aren’t BFF. :D

    2. Can you tell us where/when you got that gorgeous dress? :D

    • June 26, 2010 15:57

      Thanks, C! I had no idea and I’m not sure how to fix that. Anyone know?? I’d be very grateful for the help!

      As for the dress, it’s a Sam&Max dress that I found at TJMaxx. You can see a better picture of it here:
      http://www.flickr.com/photos/51061888@N05/4733604551/

      • June 26, 2010 17:37

        I noticed the same thing with the RSS feed, but thought maybe it was just a fluke. I use WordPress and it seems to be fine in Google reader, so not sure what it could be that’s causing it to chop up your posts! Maybe check your blog settings for “reading” and see what they are set at right now. I think I left mine basically at the default settings. Could it be something with the template you’re using? Maybe check it out with another template just to see – you can change back and forth using the preview setting without messing anything up.

  2. June 27, 2010 02:00

    That mint green Electra is absolutely gorgeous! I’m loving your new blog.

  3. June 28, 2010 19:07

    love this new blog! i’m a biking beginner, for sure.

    which leads me to ask: how exactly does one bike in a skirt?
    (there was an unfortunate situation this weekend involving my old hand-me-down road bike and a short skirt. well, maybe not so unfortunate depending on who you ask!) ;)

    • June 28, 2010 19:32

      Erin, I’m definitely a beginner also, but have found so far that a skirt is the most comfortable thing to bike in. However, pettipants will allow you to maintain you’re modesty if that’s the issue :) With the 95+ degree temps and high humidity in my city though I may have to take my chances with that since they add another layer of clothing – lol!

      • June 28, 2010 19:34

        Oops, sorry, typo – meant “maintain YOUR modesty” rather than “you’re” :)

  4. June 29, 2010 00:52

    Erin – biking in a skirt varies from skirt to skirt. I find that A-cut ones are the best because they’re loose enough that you can pedal comfortably but not so loose (like a fuller skirt) that they blow ‘open’ too much. I prefer them though because they’re breezier and on really hot days, I hate how much I sweat in pants and how they stick to my legs. I tend to tactfully hold my skirt down with one hand when it blows up too much and I’ve not yet tried wearing shorts underneath but I’ve read of others doing that.

    There is also the clothespin trick – but I’ve actually changed my mind about that one. Rarely does the clothespin stay in place for me so either I don’t know how to pin the skirt well or I’m doing something else wrong.

    I would say just experiment with different skirts in your closet, you may rule out some, but not others.

    S.

  5. June 29, 2010 01:16

    S & Erin – I’m not sure how the clothespin trick works, but that reminded me that I’ve seen someone (can’t remember who now!) mention that they use a garter and pin or clip the skirt or dress to it. I thought that sounded like a great method and will have to try it :)

    Traci

Leave a Reply

