Skip to content

Peddle/Paddle

July 11, 2010

As much as two wheels can be fun, two paddles can sometimes be even better…

{Husband, Roomie, and Dog out on the Lake}

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2010 15:15

    Looks so relaxing – even the doggie looks relaxed and happy :)

  2. July 11, 2010 16:07

    So true! Looks like you are in a canoe, glad your pup liked it too!
    Have you tried kayaking? Tons of fun!

    • July 12, 2010 13:27

      Yes, we are in a canoe – we have an awesome loaner for the summer that we hope to enjoy a bunch more. I’ve tried kayaking in the past as well and I love that too.

  3. July 11, 2010 16:09

    Forgot to say: Absolutely STUNNING photo of the sunset! Love the swirl of the clouds, and the orange lighting of the setting sun! Have you thought of enlarging it and framing it?

  4. July 11, 2010 16:13

    Gorgeous sunset! That’s cool that you and your husband have a roommate. I know of several couples and families in my community who have roommates, who rent out rooms in their home to one or two individuals. It brings them some income, but mainly they love being hospitable to others and the sense of community it creates in their home to have more people living with them. Then I’ve talked to other people who say that they would never do this because they feel that they would lose their privacy as a couple/family. I know that you don’t write a lot about personal things, but I am curious about your thoughts about having roommates and community living.

    • July 12, 2010 13:37

      Kelly – yes, we have a roommate and I do have lots I could say on the subject but I’m not sure I could articulate it all in a comment. The short answer: we love our roommate and get along with her super well. We have a big house with lots of space and I personally love the liveliness of living with our roomie, our pets, and any friends/visitors coming and going. We do benefit from the community aspect of it too – shared expenses, shared responsibilities, shared dinners over wine and good stories… it’s a good set-up for us.

      I am also a big believer in co-op housing and co-op living. But with that said, I realize that the theory doesn’t always translate as well into practice. Shared and communal living depends on individuals who work well with others and who get along for it to work smoothly. We’re lucky to have found that in our current roommate but had a less favorable experience in the past that might have led to me to answer differently had you asked then.

      I think there is this emphasis on the smallest family unit living together in Western culture today, whereas in many cultures and at different times, people would live with many more people as part of their extended family. I think there is a lot to be gained from having a community of people around you who make up your ‘family’. And my husband and I also get plenty of ‘just us’ time together, which we value, so overall, I think we hit a good balance.

  5. July 13, 2010 01:50

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about co-op/community housing. I think that you articulated it well!

Leave a Reply

