Skip to content

Catalog Seductions

July 13, 2010

(All images from Anthropologie)

A little while ago, I came across this hilarious article on the feminist site Jezebel. As someone who’s more than once lost herself in the fantasies of catalog living, the article definitely hit home. I think I spent my teenage years living in Delia*s, my undergrad days in J.Crew, and my more recent time in Anthropologie. (Just to clarify – my life has at no point actually resembled the lives and fantasies sold by each catalog, I just would lose myself in the make-belief of them the way I’d lose myself in a good novel).

Although I should know better by now, I’m still by no means immune to this type of seduction. Sure, Anthropologie’s sometimes strange appropriation of other cultures in a quest to present ‘exoticism’ makes me a bit uneasy and I may not be able to touch most of their price tags with a ten foot pole, but their gratuitous inclusion of books and bikes still makes my heart go pitter-patter. And it doesn’t hurt that their clothes are truly gorgeous.

Are my affections that easily bought? Yes. Yes, they are.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 14:51

    O.M.G. – thanks for sharing the article, it was as you wrote, truly hilarious. For J. Crew, the author left out, the simple but so classic perfect accessories for all! I too love to look at the catalogs, and they often inspire me to put an outfit together differently, colorwise or accessory wise. And I always enjoy the pictures of the pets and bikes! TFS!

  2. July 15, 2010 04:36

    Wow! Someone else has these types of fantasies too. I’m so relieved. JCrew has been huge influence on my fantasy life, as once was the very wonderful catelog Tweeds! Tweeds went teenage trendy and completely lost me. I think what appeals to me about those catelogs is that they don’t appeal to the lowest common denominator. We imagine the people in the scenes created to be well read, educated, well traveled, creative and doing the interesting and exciting things we’d like to do. They’ve actually inspired me to some extent make choices to become that person.

Leave a Reply

