Skip to content

Product Review: Topline Cup Holder for Bike

July 17, 2010

I’ve received several questions regarding my coffee cup holder attached to the handlebars of my bike. So here is a quick review for those interested parties…


I purchased this inexpensive Topline ‘Bar Hopper’ cup holder at a local bike shop last summer. As you can see in the above photo, the cup holder sits at somewhat of an angle due to the curve of the cruiser handlebars and the limited space left next to the basket mounting parts. You can see that this same cup holder mounted on a straight spot on handlebars will sit upright as intended.

Because of this particular issue specific to my using it on a cruiser, my coffee does usually sit on a slight slant which means that it is likely to spill a bit if the thermos is too full. But this is not a problem inherent to the cup holder as much as to my particular set-up.

With that said, here is my pros/cons list for this item:

Pros:

– it is very easy to install (no extra tools necessary)
– it unscrews easily so that it can quickly and effortlessly moved from one bike to another
– it comes with extra rubber ‘padding’ that helps the clamp secure to various size handlebars
– it is fairly inexpensive
– it jiggles a bit (my ride is very bumpy) but has an overall secure hold on the handlebar (I’ve had no spills to date)

Cons:

– it jiggles a bit and requires consistent retightening of clamp if you have a bumpy ride
– it only holds a particular size thermos/cup


This latter point is probably my main misgiving. I thought I’d overcome any spilling issues by using a no-spill thermos, but unfortunately, the more bulbous shape of that container is not compatible with the coffee cup holder. As you can see, the cup holder has a specific tapered circumference, necessitating use of the more traditional cup/thermos shape. I’m not sure whether other cup holders out there come with a more forgiving shape, but it appears that a quick google search only resulted in similar shaped cup holders for bikes.

Overall, I am satisfied with this product and would recommend it to others. Especially given the pretty inexpensive price tag. Have you outfitted your bike with a bike holder? Would you recommend a particular one?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 22:56

    Thank you for doing the review!
    As much as I try to use non-disposable cups, I am wondering if you have ever tried it with one? And how was it with such a standard paper cup as far as grip and spilling?

    I was looking at the one you reviewed and also this one http://www.velo-orange.com/voretrocage.html at orange velo.
    The one at orange velo I think could mount into the basket like the wood one on a bates crate (which has pros and cons of it’s own)http://www.batescrates.com/ but alas, I can’t get that one here. I have seen the one you have here so I am really glad you reviewed it, thanks!

    • July 17, 2010 23:15

      Funny, I looked at cup holders this morning on the electra site, and on amazon. I still haven’t pressed the button to order though…still contemplating. THANKS FOR THE INFO!

  2. July 18, 2010 18:13

    As someone who can’t walk and drink out of a cup at the same time I don’t think I’m going to have any success with a cup holder.

  3. Kelly permalink
    July 19, 2010 03:49

    Thanks for the review. My fiance and I were just talking about needing cup holders for our bikes today. I will be looking into this one for sure.
    Cheers!

  4. July 19, 2010 07:22

    what a great review. i am all for stopping and drinking my coffee without taking it to go (most of my friends know this very particualr trade of mine) but doesn’t mean that I have my often exceptions.
    For the frenchie (my 99%bike) i just throw my mugs in the basket. For the smurfette (longer distance bike) I just found out that klean kanteen makes an insulated version, that fits perfectly on the already mounted cage. fabulous!

  5. Weezer permalink
    September 10, 2010 23:59

    I know his is an old post but I just found your blog threw LGRAB.
    Felt makes a great sturdy coffee mug ..
    http://www.feltbicycles.com/USA/2011/Parts/Cruiser/FELT%20CAFÉ%20COFFEE%20CUP%20HOLDER.aspx

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Favorites – 7/23/10 « KateOhKatie blogs
  2. 24 July 2010 – Pattern : academichic
  3. summer cycling: it’s finally here « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

