Skip to content

Bikes on Campus

July 19, 2010

Just after I vented my frustrations about not seeing any personalized and beautiful bikes out here in (my corner of) the Midwest, I pulled up to the bike racks on campus to take in this wonderful sight. Two other gorgeous Electras – a beautiful blue Amsterdam and a gorgeous orange Townie – were already parked there. Adding my Cruiser to the mix almost made it look like an Electra dealership had set up shop. And, if that weren’t enough, a cool Huffy Cruiser was stationed just to the side. And I dared complain about the state of beautiful bikes on my campus. I guess I asked, and the universe delivered.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 17:59

    They’re lovely! I’ve seen a nice Dawes bike around my campus, but most aren’t very exciting.

  2. July 22, 2010 10:59

    Yay for pretty bicycles! I do wonder if your campus has issues with bike theft…? This has been one of the reasons that I haven’t wanted to invest in a nicer bike — I’ve had two stolen since living in my city and one while it was locked to the bike rack right outside my department building.

    • July 22, 2010 13:58

      Whoa, LHMD, that is awful! I definitely always lock my bike up but I haven’t heard much about bike theft thus far. It feels pretty safe here (although I did notice that the other more high end bikes I’ve seen have sturdy U-locks keeping them in place and not the flimsy combo locks that I’ve been using. So maybe I should upgrade…

      • July 22, 2010 15:37

        I think the U locks are pretty easy to break with a ball point pen. I know the older ones were at least…. It would be nice if it weren’t something that we had to worry about!

Leave a Reply

