Skip to content

The Sartorialist and Bikes

July 22, 2010



You may be well familiar with the street style site The Sartorialist. As sites of this genre go, it showcases stylish people in their sartorial uniqueness from cities around the world. I often find the looks beautiful but inapplicable to my life as a grad student/college instructor and therefore tire of looking at them fairly quickly. But lately, photographer Scott Schuman has dedicated a whole series of photos to stylish people on their bikes. Capturing cyclists from New York City to Milan to Berlin, Schuman shows how effortlessly chic and elegant bike commuting can be. These photos I never tire of persuing.

Perhaps because I don’t get to see that much of this in my corner of the Midwest, the Sartorialist bike pictures really have me hooked. They remind of what was a daily norm in the more urban and bike friendly places I’ve lived and they inspire me to carry out my cycling fantasies in the less Sartorialist-esque place I now call home. Thanks, Sartorialist, and keep those bike shots coming. S.

(All images from The Sartorialist)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 12:35

    Thanks for sharing these stylish, sophisticated looks!

  2. July 22, 2010 15:38

    Oh, these shots make me wish I had bought a cruiser for my defense! Maybe someday….

  3. sara permalink
    July 22, 2010 20:41

    I love his series of people on bikes – it’s interesting to see people biking around the world, and how different people approach bike-riding, sartorially.

Trackbacks

  1. Portland Bikes in Style « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

