Skip to content

Product Review: Electra Wicker Basket

July 23, 2010
tags:

I received several questions here and on academichic regarding my wicker bike basket. Since I have been very happy with this purchase, I thought I’d do a quick review to answer some of those questions about this bike basket.

I ordered the Electra Quick Release Wicker Basket to mount to the front of my cruiser bike. The basket is made of a sturdy weave and comes with all the mounting accessories needed. As the name suggests, it is intended to quickly release from the handlebars as you want to take the basket off when you arrive at your destination.


This actually has worked out wonderfully. I just push the red plastic tab back and the basket comes off effortlessly. To snap it back in place, I refasten the basket into the mount and listen for a ‘click’ sound which confirms that it’s back in place. While mounted, the basket doesn’t shift or move and stays sturdily in place.


While no substitute for larger panniers or back racks that can haul a more substantial amount of cargo, this basket can hold up to 11 lbs of stuff. This computes to roughly the weight of a gallon jug of milk and then some. I prefer it for toting my large but lighter items, like my picnic blanket that has permanently found its place in it.


I also affixed some flowers to the front using zip ties for my participation in the Let’s Go Ride a Bike Summer Games. Other than the limited nature of how much the basket can support (11 lbs), I have not yet had any complaints about this basket. In fact, I really love this basket and would definitely recommend it to someone looking for a wicker front basket that can also double as a grocery carrier, book holder, or picnic basket. Or for someone concerned about leaving their basket attached to their bike when parked – jut snap it off and take it inside.

Have you outfitted your bike with carrying accessories? What have you found to be very effective and useful? S.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Janni permalink
    July 23, 2010 17:02

    Ich mag Fahrradkörbe sehr – man hat seine Sachen immer im Blick!

    Mein Fahrradkorb (http://www.flickr.com/photos/siggel/4820987059/in/photostream/) hat auch eine praktische Halterung zum Abnehmen, man kann ihn aber während der Fahrt schliessen. Dann fällt nichts heraus und wenn es regnet, wird der Inhalt auch nicht nass.

    Die Farbe meines Korbs ist ein toller Kontrast zum schwarzen Rahmen.

    Have a nice weekend!

  2. July 25, 2010 16:47

    I have a wicker basket (Nantucket Basket Co.), with two leather straps that you wrap and then buckle on the handle bars. I generally have a book, water, my cable lock, sometimes my camera. I didn’t realize the Electra one has that great handle, very nice!

    http://nantucketbikebaskets.com/store/brantpoint.html

    I do plan on ordering an electra black mesh wire basket, because I think it would be more useful at times.

  3. July 27, 2010 15:08

    I love your bike! I have an Electra, too! A seven-speed coaster in mint green and pearl. I bought it in the summer of 2008. I used to have a wire mesh basket, but my boyfriend always made fun of it, so I got rid of it. I’ve been checking out some wicker baskets to use in the fall so that I can carry some of my larger bags in the basket or ride to the grocery store and stuff. I love the handle on your Electra basket! :)

Trackbacks

  1. 24 July 2010 – Pattern : academichic

Leave a Reply

