Skip to content

Upcoming Event: Moonlight Ramble

July 23, 2010

Have you heard of the Moonlight Ramble in St. Louis? I participated in this event back in 2008 and have had it on my ‘to re-do’ list ever since. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to make it to St. Louis for it next month (so no re-do this year) but I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a fun, easy, and unique social ride.

As the name suggests, the ride takes place at night. The city of St. Louis shuts down traffic and about 10,000 riders take to the streets to ride though the city under a full moon. When I participated back in 2008, I only rode my bike a few times a year with friends and mostly on trails. I was very intimidated by the idea of riding alongside so many other cyclists and on city roads. But even for a novice like myself, the ride proved wonderful – people rode at all paces and comfort levels; many cyclists wore fun costumes; many participants had children in trailers, on bike seats, or on small accompanying bikes; people pulled over for breaks taking in the view or having a snack (especially those with kids); and some just sped right through to the beer party awaiting at the finish line.

The views of the city at night were breathtaking.

If you’re in the St. Louis area on Aug. 21st this year, I suggest you check out the Moonlight Ramble for a scenic 10 mile or 19 mile (your choice) ride through the night. And let me know if you did, I’d love to hear about your experience with it!

Meanwhile, I’m getting psyched for Ragbrai next week! S.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 17:50

    so awesome!! late nite bike rides should happen everywhere all the time
    my friend and i were just debating this!! :D
    xxo.m

    • July 25, 2010 15:16

      I know! I wish there were more organized ones available, but even cruisin alone at night when it’s all peaceful and lit up by stars/street lamps is so magical.

  2. July 25, 2010 16:27

    It sounds like a beautiful evening. I am glad you have pictures to share! Wouldn’t it be wonderful if it was an event in many cities. And it sounds like something I would love to try…hmmm..Maybe next year!

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Favorites – 7/23/10 « KateOhKatie blogs

Leave a Reply

