Skip to content

Portland Bikes in Style

July 26, 2010

I have only been to Portland once. But I’m pretty sure that were I to move there, I would be perfectly happy. My Portland fantasies have in part been fueled by my wonderful friend who lives there and has talked it up quite a bit and by – what else – the internets. Last week, I mentioned how I love the cycle chic posts on The Sartorialist. This week, let me introduce you to all the wonderful images of everyday stylish people and their bikes on the Portland Street Style site Urban Weeds.

I love the photography on Urban Weeds as much as the subjects, who are often to be found posing next to their fabulous bikes. I got to experience the awesome bike infrastructure of Portland myself while there and cycling around with my good friend A. Seeing these stylish Portlanders on Urban Weeds or following bike blogs like Portlandize only adds fuel to my fire. While I may not be able to pack my bags and head West quite yet, I can nonetheless dream and drool over the images on Portland’s Street Style site…

(Images courtesy of Urban Weeds)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 17:30

    What can I say – we ride bikes like the normal everyday people we are :) I just discovered Urban Weeds recently too, and promptly added them to my blog reader. Good stuff.

    If you’re ever planning on being in Portland and want to catch a beer or coffee with my wife and I, let us know!

  2. July 26, 2010 18:34

    Dave – thanks for the invite! I will definitely take you both up on it the next time I’m there. Hopefully, not too far off in the future. S.

  3. July 27, 2010 18:37

    What a lovely post! Thanks so much! There are some amazing bikes here… and amazing people.

    Cheers,
    Lisa

    • July 28, 2010 16:50

      Hey Lisa,

      thanks for stopping by! I love your site and am always looking to tell others about it, keep up the wonderful work :)

      S

  4. July 27, 2010 22:33

    I grew up outside of Portland, and though I don’t miss the rain, I sure miss almost everything else! I follow Urban Weeds half because I love their photos and half because I know it’s only a matter of time before someone I know pops up!

    I actually think Portland gets a bad reputation for the rain when it doesn’t really interfere too much with one’s daily activities… but it does seem like being a bike commuter in PDX would be a pretty serious commitment. I’d have permanently wet hair!

    • July 27, 2010 22:48

      Liz: Being a person in Portland who rides his bike for almost all his trips around town, I’ve been surprised at how little I actually get really wet. Most of the time when it’s raining, it’s just a light mist or drizzle, and if I’m going just a few miles or less, it only takes me a few minutes to feel totally dry upon arrival (and I usually wear a hat and coat of some sort if it’s raining). I ride to work every day I go to work all year, so I see all the good and bad weather, and I have to say, I think somewhere like Chicago would be worse, with really high winds and cold winter, or like Austin or Phoenix with the incredibly hot summer. Portland being pretty temperate is quite nice to ride in almost all year round.

      • July 28, 2010 13:16

        Great points, Dave. I confess that I was thinking mostly of a) my hair, which actually does worse in Portland’s notorious drizzle than in full-on rain, and b) the water stripe I’d have down my back from the wheel whicking water up on it.

      • July 28, 2010 14:56

        Hooray for fenders! :)

        Yeah, the misty drizzle can result in some magnificent frizz, eh? :)

Leave a Reply

