Skip to content

from above

August 16, 2010
Let's Go on a Flight



This weekend I only hopped on a bike twice. First, when our dog escaped in the midst of our big renovation project and three of us got on our bikes to search the neighborhood for her. (We didn’t have to go far, she came home on her own. And was very smug, might I add). And second, when we test rode a pair of matching ‘His and Hers’ 1960s Raleigh Roadsters that we saw on Craigslist. (More on that later).

Other than that, I kept my feet firmly on the ground and a paintbrush steadily in my hand. Oh, except for when I went up in my father-in-law’s plane and surveyed this beautiful Midwest from above. Now that’s an alternate mode of transportation.

How was your weekend? Do anything exciting?


9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 03:03

    How fun! When I was growing up, at least one weekend a month my dad and uncle would rent a small plane and take my sister and I for day trips to the outer banks and up and down the eastern shore. Your post brings back some fond memories! :)

    • August 16, 2010 13:03

      Amy – how awesome! My husband and his brother got to fly a lot when they were younger too and have fond memories of it. I can’t imagine it not being a novelty :)

  2. August 16, 2010 03:30

    That looks like so much fun and even peaceful (was it?).

    We just spent a lot of time together as a family, but I did not get on the bike at all. Tomorrow morning…

    • August 16, 2010 13:02

      Big Clyde, it was peaceful – the view and seeing our house from above like that was so fun. Less peaceful – every turn and move made a much bigger impact on your stomach than on a big commercial flight. Takes a bit of getting used to, just like when you feel those movements in your stomach in fast elevators.

  3. Janni permalink
    August 16, 2010 07:24

    Booah – wie cool ist das denn?!

    Dafür lässt man doch gerne mal den Pinsel fallen, oder?

    Unser Wochenende war leider ganz ohne Fahrrad – bei dem Regenwetter in Berlin wäre es schwer geworden, “gegen die Strömung” zu fahren…

  4. August 16, 2010 11:09

    Glad your dog came home safely! You look like you were having fun in the plane. And I am looking forward to hearing more about the his/her bikes from the sixties!

  5. August 17, 2010 12:55

    Cool pictures! I was in planes this weekend, but just the boring Southwest ones. Your flight looks way more fun :)

  6. laura lou permalink
    August 19, 2010 14:30

    LOVE flying over the midwest in a small plane! My uncle took me from Madison to somewhere in Illinois a year or so ago, and it was amazing! To see everything that goes on up in the cockpit and also have a great view of the terrain below is so amazing! The midwest is so beautiful…so happy you got to enjoy it from up high!

Leave a Reply

