Skip to content

nostalgia

August 20, 2010
Bäkerei



I have been putting together a slideshow of images of Germany and Austria for my German students this semester. Looking through my photos from my recent year in Germany, I was hit with a strong sense of nostalgia…for the food, the coffee, the culture, and, of course, the bike friendly cities. Nothing beats that scent of freshly baked bread wafting onto the streets when all the bakeries open in the morning or that taste of German brewed beer.


Striped


I {heart} coffee


Bike in Regensburg



And what would Germany be without an elaborate Michael Jackson shrine in the middle of Munich?


Michael Jackson Shrine



With that, my friends, I leave you for the weekend and wish you all a Schönes Wochenende!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 14:31

    These are beautiful photos! I enjoyed the one weekend I spent in Munich very much.

    Although I’m very happy here, I often feel nostalgic for Madrid and miss my friends and life there.

    • August 20, 2010 15:00

      I know, there is just something about Europe, I always miss it so much no matter how happy I am in the US. Will you be going back to Spain any time to visit?

      • August 21, 2010 15:34

        At some point I’m sure to be there again for research, but probably not for a couple of years. I was in Italy this summer for my honeymoon, though, and I would love to do a few days in Berlin this next summer if one of my co-bloggers gets a post-doc there. (fingers crossed)

  2. eva permalink
    August 20, 2010 14:59

    What region did you stay in? I spent half a year in Oldenburg / Hamburg. I love the first picture but it makes me miss all those lovely {and readily available} cakes and breads

    • August 20, 2010 15:01

      When I was younger, my family lived just outside of Cologne for three years. Last academic year (until this June) I was in Munich. These pictures were taken in Regensburg on a day trip there. What took you to Oldenburg? Study abroad?

  3. August 21, 2010 01:04

    I’ve been to Weisbaden several times, and think it looks like a village from a fairy tale with lace curtains and flowerboxes adorning every window.

  4. cynthia permalink
    August 22, 2010 04:25

    I got back about a month ago from a year in Vienna – and I miss it! I wish I’d known about your blog while I was there. I was a HUGE fan of the Citybike rentals they had all around town. Definitely beat riding the U-Bahn all the time!

    In case you’re wondering, I was in Wien as a part-time au pair, part-time English teacher, full-time German student, and an as-much-as-possible traveler. Any idea where your travels will take you next?

    • August 22, 2010 04:34

      Cynthia – I love Wien, such a beautiful city! I ran the Vienna City Half Marathon this past spring! I’ve been to Vienna a few times and it’s been one of my favorite places, I really hope to be able to take my husband to see it at some point. And, of course, we’ll have to rent bikes and give that a try. I don’t know where my travels will take me next, I really hope to return to Europe again soon but it probably won’t happen before next summer. How about you?

      • cynthia permalink
        August 22, 2010 14:57

        It’s looking like next summer for me too. The American friends I made in Vienna and I have been planning a west coast reunion road trip up into Canada. A few of the Europeans we left behind are saving up to come join us, so it should be really great!

        Ps, congrats on the half marathon! I got to watch part of a triathlon on the Donau insel, and it solidified my feelings of confusion and awe for you endurance athletes. ;)

  5. August 22, 2010 13:10

    Lovely pictures! These cakes remind me of all the good chocolate and other sweets I had in Paris this week. If you ever fancy to come for a Melange and Apfelstrudel to Vienna, let me know :-).

Leave a Reply

