Skip to content

bike rack, please.

August 24, 2010
Bike rack, please.

{*names withheld to protect the innocent}


Not too long ago, I asked you how to go about requesting a bike rack outside an establishment I frequently visit. You responded with excellent suggestions, and thus inspired, I made a few calls to my city hall. The person I spoke to was very friendly and willing to help and provided me with the necessary information on how to request a bike rack.

While in places like Chicago, forms for such requests are readily available online, where I live there is no such thing. And as a citizen, I have to rely on the business in question to make the request on my behalf. It’s the establishment in front of which I’m tying to get a bike rack that has to contact the city and request it. Only if the business is unwilling to do so, can I put my request in writing and contact the traffic engineer myself. So I did as advised and approached the local coffee shop in front of which I want a bike rack placed and explained my dilemma to them. You can see my note (above and below). I spoke to a manager and he appeared receptive to my request, now I’m waiting to see whether the coffee shop actually pursues this matter. I provided them with the information they would need and am hoping that they will make that phone call.

I’m hopeful and excited to see whether this small act will result in change. I hope to see a bright and shiny new bike rack outside of my favorite cafe soon, fingers crossed.


Thank you.
10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 14:06

    What a nice way to request a bike rack! So classy and kind – I hope they listen to you!

  2. August 24, 2010 15:40

    That’s wonderful, I hope they come through for you. If not, have a bunch of your friends ask them as well. The more people want it, the more likely it is to get done :D Cheers!

    • August 24, 2010 16:42

      Dave – good point! I may have to recruit some “strangers” to put in the same request. I wonder if I can offer my students extra credit for doing that. Only kidding.

      • August 24, 2010 16:46

        Hah! There you go, get a couple hundred college kids to drop in a few at a time over a week and just casually mention that it’d be great to have bike racks out front :D

  3. steve permalink
    August 24, 2010 18:36

    Post the City Hall email address and the physical address of this coffee shop and let the power of the internet take over!

    So the City will install bicycle racks for businesses that request one? How cool is that!

  4. August 24, 2010 20:08

    I once wrote something similar to the facility managment of my faculty and suggested some simply but efficient modifications (they have a feedback box). It was because the bike racks are even overfull in the holidays, not to mention during the semesters. Well, nothing changed and the situation gets worse every semester. They still continue to lock bikes that were standing outside of the designated area (one than had to go to the facility managment and ask whether they would be so kind to deblock one’s own bike).
    I was more sucessful, when I wrote to the city councils themselves. Here’s one example where I complained about illegal parking in front of a school.

    • August 25, 2010 01:21

      Well done! Isn’t it nice when one does something and actually sees results?

  5. August 25, 2010 03:39

    That’s a lovely way to work for change in your community. All class :) Please let us know about any progress on the bike parking front.

  6. mooie fietsen permalink
    August 25, 2010 19:31

    Good luck with your quest for a bike rack and please keep us posted on the results.

Trackbacks

  1. on a mission « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

