Skip to content

you’d look hotter in a helmet

August 26, 2010

You'd look hotter in a helmet


I spotted this sticker affixed to the back of a pick-up truck of all things. This was parked in my neighborhood the other day and I couldn’t resist taking a picture of this pro-helmet automobile. As I got closer to snap a shot, I noticed the website address listed under the slogan ‘you’d look hotter in a helmet’.

I’m all about making safety sexy. Just doing my part, folks, one bike ride at a time.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2010 21:12

    i love your aerial shots! mine never come out that artsy and lovely.
    eee and a shameful confession: i didn’t wear my helmet today! don’t tell my mom…

  2. August 27, 2010 00:35

    I have a natural reaction against seeing something like that on a pickup truck. Last time I checked, I didn’t ask or care what some random driver thought of my sexiness in regard to my helmet status. But the campaign itself is okay. The woman who started it is from Chicago.

    • August 27, 2010 03:36

      Dottie – that was my first thought. But then I thought that maybe the owner of the truck is also a cyclist (or climber or skater) themselves and just wanting to promote the campaign? I’ve seen that truck around since I took the picture and am keeping my eye out for an owner. I thought I might ask about the sticker if I do see him or her.

  3. mooie fietsen permalink
    August 27, 2010 02:01

    Nutcase helmet owners, I have a question for you. Would it be your helmet of choice in sunny, 95 degree, high humidity weather? I’m in need of a new helmet and like the looks of the Nutcase, but it doesn’t look especially well ventilated. We still have quite a bit of scorching summer left here in Texas. Helmet thoughts/recommendations?

      • August 27, 2010 15:27

        Oooh, Janni, I quite like that one! Good find! Looks like a stylish option but with a bit more ventilation than a Nutcase or Bern. I would wear something like that.

      • mooie fietsen permalink
        August 27, 2010 20:57

        Thanks for the link, Janni!

    • August 27, 2010 12:36

      Mooie Fietsen – It’s true that the Nutcase helmet isn’t as ventilated as my sportier Giro helmet:

      http://www.flickr.com/photos/51061888@N05/4838677195/in/set-72157624477934781/

      But I have worn it all summer in high 90s weather and humidity. I also chose a lighter color (over black, brown) hoping that that makes a difference in keeping it cooler. I guess I would say it’s a matter of personal comfort. I found it to be ok for me because I liked the look of it so I was willing to sacrifice a bit of the ventilation that I might get with a sportier model. I didn’t overheat in it and it didn’t seem like it was much worse than what wearing my Giro helmet feels like.

    • G.E. permalink
      August 27, 2010 13:48

      I was just going to add that while I don’t wear a Nutcase, I do wear a Bern helmet in the hot summer (and cold winter), and it is similarly ventilated. It would seem that it would be warmer because it doesn’t have quite the same ventilation, but I find that it actually shades my head from the heat of the sun, and kind of counterbalances the lack of venting holes like on my more ‘roadie’ Bell helmet. I’m not sure if that helps, but thought I’d add a thought.

      • mooie fietsen permalink
        August 27, 2010 20:54

        Thanks for the replies! I hadn’t thought about the nutcase providing more shade, but that makes sense. I went ahead and bought one today while at the local bike shop, the gold sparkly one that looks like a bowling ball. I figured the shiny gold + shiny sparkles will aid visibility. Plus, it’s cute and made me smile. Thanks again!

  4. August 27, 2010 08:26

    I wonder whether the car driver also wears a helmet…

  5. Alison permalink
    August 27, 2010 15:00

    Hey, that’s an awesome blog. I just forwarded it on to a few of my loved ones. My husband and I have always been advocates for helmets on our motorcycles. I am looking forward to riding my bicycle more once we move and I have my bike helmet all ready to go. Thanks again for your lovely bike blog too. I look forward to every post.

    • August 27, 2010 15:25

      Alison – thanks for your nice words about my blog!

      When it comes to motorcycles, I’ve always been a HUGE advocate of wearing a helmet! I don’t know why I don’t feel as vehemently about helmet use on a bike (I probably should) but I definitely feel strongly about it on a motorcycle. My dad and husband both ride motorcycles and always with a helmet. When I ride with them (or when I was learning to ride one a few years back) I only did so with a helmet on. You just go at such a fast pace with hardly anything protecting your body in case of a crash or accident, it seems foolish to not take some precautions. Sadly, I see so many young people on motorcycles where I live and hardly any of them wear helmets and they’re usually flying down the road. Or even worse – flying down the freeway.

  6. steve permalink
    August 28, 2010 00:38

    where could one find a MET City Helm Camaleonte hellblau glänzend in the usa? that helmet rocks.

  7. August 30, 2010 11:39

    Post-script: As it turns out, the owner of said truck and his friend are avid cyclists! Hence the sticker, meant as support and not as a derision.

  8. September 1, 2010 14:05

    Not crazy about the looks of the nutcase but applaud your including helmets in your great collection of posts. Really like your site. Cycle on!

Leave a Reply

