Skip to content

lunchtime bike ride

September 8, 2010
Lunch time bike ride



By the end of last week, I had worked through most of my lunch hours and was feeling pretty drowsy by the time Thursday afternoon rolled around. I teach all morning and I usually get up at 6 am to start preparing for my workday. By lunchtime, I tend to fade, so my pick-me-up is usually a latte or cappuccino with cinnamon and cocoa sprinkled on top.

But I’ve decided that my caffeine habit is getting out of control and that I will drink my way through my teacher salary of I keep hitting up that Caribou on campus on a daily basis, so I had to come up with a different pick-me-up solution.

As I had errands to run and was doubting my ability to stay awake past the workday – alet alone my willingness to add detours to my way home – I resolved to get those tasks done during my lunch break. Well, the idea was brilliant because here’s the thing: bike ride in the fresh air through a beautiful trail = awesome energy boost that even good coffee (almost) can’t compete with.


Lunch time bike ride



I ran my errand and took a bit of a detour through a bike trail near campus and then returned to my office for the afternoon’s workload. I don’t have to tell you where I’m going with this: I felt a hundred times better after my lunchtime bike ride. So why not do this more often?

My husband regularly uses his lunch break to swim or go on walks with two co-workers. I’ve always thought that was a great idea but I hadn’t given it a try because something about leaving work during lunch to do something fun and good for you feels so wrong…so indulgent…right?

I have also heard of runners organizing group runs with co-workers at lunch. While swimming or running takes a bit more prep work (changing into running clothes or a swimsuit) and clean-up (showing and changing again), walking or cycling can easily be done in what you happened to be wearing. At most, you might require a shoe change.

I know that I won’t be popping out for a quick ride during lunch on a daily basis – like the best of workaholics, I find lunch to be the perfect time for checking emails, editing various documents, and making to-do lists all while juggling a sandwich or silverware in my non-typing hand. But I do think that on those days when I can step away from my work and office for even a half an hour, a ride around campus or to a quieter and more relaxing spot might be just the thing to recharge my batteries for the afternoon to come. Bonus point: that coffee allowance can stay in my piggy bank and one day buy me something pretty and shiny.

Do you ever leave work during your lunch break to do something active or fun? Do you see it affecting your afternoon mood, and if so, how? And do you think you would be more likely to go on a walk during lunch if your co-workers were to join you?


Lunch time panda
6 Comments leave one →
  1. G.E. permalink
    September 8, 2010 03:26

    Though I really have nothing horribly intelligent to add to your post, I just thought I’d say that I absolutely LOVE your outfit, and the yellow shoes just give that perfect pop to the whole ensemble.

    Congrats on the new found love of lunch hour rides. They can definitely pick up the mood. :o)

  2. September 8, 2010 13:43

    I live a mile from my university and I ride my bike (or scooter!) home for lunch every day. I need an hour away from my desk – it definitely rejuvenates me, plus I get to play with my pups while I’m home.

  3. September 8, 2010 13:53

    this is something that i’ve been doing more and more as of late… looking for any excuse to leave work at lunch and do something on my bike. it’s definitely refreshing, but i can’t shake the feeling of being disconnected from my work when i return… it’s like a drug, and the return to my work mindset is withdrawal.

  4. September 8, 2010 16:36

    a lunchtime bike ride DOES feel super indulgent but a little exercise is such a great way to perk up and wake up!
    p.s. i miss your outfits–you look so pretty in the top photo!

  5. mooie fietsen permalink
    September 8, 2010 17:39

    Back when I had an office job lunchtime walks saved my sanity. Cubicle life felt claustrophobic and getting outside was a much needed escape into the wide open.

    On another topic, did I miss what you decided to name your Raleigh?

Leave a Reply

