Skip to content

meet fiona

September 9, 2010
Morning coffee panda



Meet Fiona!

No, I’m not Fiona. Fiona’s my bike. Thanks to all of you who chimed in with awesome name suggestions, I found one that I think fits this beauty really well. G.E. first recommended Fiona and many of you seconded that. I also love it, so many thanks, G.E.!




Check out Fiona and Floyd Raleigh…Don’t they look smart?*


Vintage Raleigh Roadsters



*I realize that the extent to which I anthropomorphize my bikes is bordering on cooky, but I’m alright with that. Happy riding!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 17:34

    YAY!! I love Fiona, and it’s a perfect name for a lovely bicycle (not that I have any bias whatsoever :)). Fiona and Floyd are such a perfect match. I look forward to reading about all your adventures.

  2. Alison permalink
    September 9, 2010 18:58

    I love that you name your bikes! I named my Nav system in my car and my car… Car is GrapeApe and the Nav is Vanessa and she speaks with a British accent.

  3. September 9, 2010 20:22

    Congratulations! Fabulous name! Fiona was my suggestion as well, I think it sounds really British. Enjoy your rides, Fiona & Floyd!

  4. September 9, 2010 20:46

    Lovely to meet you, Fiona!

    I haven’t named my bike yet, but our car is named Thor. Joe’s idea, not mine.

  5. September 9, 2010 21:52

    Love the name. Glad to meet you and Fiona. :)

    I name my stuff too. Jenny is my bike and she has quite the attitude (and you think you anthropomorphize your stuff?). I’ve been documenting her adventures around Seattle over on my blog this month.

  6. September 10, 2010 00:59

    I love the name Fiona! A spinning friend of mine from the UK is named Fiona. And there is nothing wrong with naming bicycles. Mine are Helena (a Hercules, similar to your Fiona) and Hedwig, my german Mixte. :)

  7. September 10, 2010 01:39

    Yay for bike naming! I name many inanimate objects so I don’t think it’s cooky at all!

  8. cupcakerator permalink
    September 11, 2010 01:31

    Hey! My Raleigh is named Fiona as well! Crazy…

  9. September 18, 2010 15:21

    Dave’s and my Raleigh’s are Bertram and Beatrice, Our 74 VW Bug is Sofie. we name things all the time. :)

  10. Julie permalink
    October 5, 2010 14:44

    I was wondering – what kind of cup holder do you have? Do you find that any travel mugs works with it? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

