Skip to content

new [old] raleigh grand prix

September 10, 2010

Feeling dapper

My obsession with Raleighs is taking off. We have recently acquired a 1978 Raleigh Grand Prix and are restoring it for me to use as my roadbike. Here she is with new wheels on her already and finally in rideable condition. I love this bike; it’s gorgeous and rides well and the perfect size for me. Be warned now, there are a few more Grand Prix photo posts coming your way.

Meanwhile, I know what I’ll be doing this weekend – hitting the paved trails with this beauty, of course.

Happy riding!

1978 Raleigh Grand Prix

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 22:46

    Very nice. What kind of wheels did you use?

  2. September 10, 2010 23:02

    The paint looks as though it’s in great condition! Unlike my Raleigh Super Course from the mid-70s that is in need of a serious paint job, your Raleigh looks as though it is ready for the road. Have fun on it this weekend! Oh, and I love the coordinating jacket you’re wearing… very cute!

  3. September 11, 2010 02:02

    The Raleigh looks terrific, and you look ready for fall. Enjoy the nice riding weather.

  4. September 11, 2010 05:56

    Awesome! Are you planning to keep the dynamo lighting? And will you change the levers to aero?

    • September 11, 2010 19:15

      Velouria – I am definitely planning on keeping the dynamo lighting, it’s one of the things I loved about it when I saw the bike. It’s what I would have loved to have on the other Raleighs too. Right now the light doesn’t work because we put the new wheels in and we have to readjust the dynamo hub to touch the wheel. The cable is also in awful shape, as you can tell from the pictures. We ordered a new cable cover and will have to fix the light soon.

      As for the gear, they work pretty well and I don’t mind where they are. Is that what you mean by levers? I’m not sure what aero levers are and hadn’t given the gear levers much consideration actually, only because of my lack of knowledge on that subject. Any thoughts? I would love your opinion!

  5. September 11, 2010 06:46

    Fantastic jacket!

  6. September 12, 2010 00:12

    Yay for fabulous bike obsessions!

    Oh, and I have to comment on your fabulously velocouture, academically chic (hmm, I wonder where I came up with that combination of adjectives…) ensemble. I love it!

  7. September 13, 2010 20:08

    This is the cutest biking outfit. Jeez. So cute.

  8. September 14, 2010 16:37

    i understand your Raleigh obsession… you now need to find a Twenty.

  9. September 14, 2010 18:27

    Congratulations! As a vintage Raleigh roadbike rider I applaud your choice. It’s a great bike!

  10. hugh permalink
    July 3, 2012 09:29

    Wow, I love it. I have a 1977 Raleigh Grand Prix that was a high school graduation present. My older brother crashed it a few times so the wheels are a mess. It is my backup bike now and I am thinking of some upgrades for it: new wheels, move the gear shift levers up higher, maybe new brakes.

Trackbacks

  1. will bike for apples « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

