Skip to content

foto friday: ode to fall

October 1, 2010

yellow

Lone leaf

apple tree

yellow and orange

fall leaves

{all photos from my bike ride home yesterday. I love fall.}

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 13:47

    Just want to say; love your blog!

    Usually im checking design blogs, fashion blogs, architecture blogs… but yours is always such a breath of fresh air!
    …and it always makes me SMILE!

    marielle

    • October 1, 2010 13:50

      Marielle – that is such a great compliment, thank you! :)

      (I’m especially flattered hearing that from you since your photography is amazing).

  2. October 1, 2010 13:54

    Oh S., I am so envious of your bicycling academic life and your collection of cute shoes… I used to cycle just for fun but lately with the end of the PhD in sight I have much less time for fun of any kind! I’d like to make cycling more a part of everyday life, but don’t know where to begin. I know it’s a simple case of getting on my bike and *going*, but I’m really apprehensive about it in the town I live in right now. Moving from forest trails where the most traffic you encounter is a fox to crowded streets is just daunting. Any advice?

    • October 1, 2010 14:04

      A – I can totally sympathize. I’ve been so busy since beginning my new job and still working on the dissertation that many other activities have fallen by the way side. I wish I ran a lot more than I do (like I used to) but it takes so much time. That’s actually why I’ve taken to cycling so well: I can work it into my routine and can get exercise on my way to work, the store, and home. And those 15 minutes spent riding and breathing the fresh air and occasionally stopping to snap a picture really improve my quality of life.

      I think you’re right – it is a simple case of getting on the bike and going. I would suggest taking short trips in town at first with routes that don’t seem too daunting. Where you might not encounter a lot of traffic so that you can feel comfortable to incrementally increase your exposure to city riding.

      I still avoid main roads (because we don’t have bike lanes and you have to ride on the sidewalk next to a bunch of traffic – not so picturesque) and I opt for neighborhood roads even if it adds slightly to my commute. Those extra five minutes don’t make a big difference but improve the quality of my commute by a lot. Are there perhaps nice side streets and neighborhood roads you can use while getting comfortable riding off trails and in town?

      Keep me posted on how it’s going! Good luck! And I”m so jealous that you’re PhD end is so near in sight, yay for you!!
      S

      • October 2, 2010 02:36

        Just curious if riding on sidewalks is legal there – it’s not in my city, even though people do it on a regular basis and I’ve never heard of anyone being ticketed. We have very few bike lanes also and I wish there were easier ways to get around, but it’s not always possible to get to a specific destination on neighborhood streets, even if willing to add time or distance to a commute. And we have so many hills, that I’ve come to the conclusion that I’d rather take my chances riding in heavier traffic if it allows me to avoid more hills :)

  3. October 1, 2010 14:12

    such beautiful autumnal photos, it certainly is a lovely new season!

  4. October 1, 2010 14:13

    Beautiful pictures! I love Autumn.

  5. October 1, 2010 14:19

    I love fall too! That second picture of your cute shoes and a single leaf is adorable. Ride on!

  6. October 1, 2010 14:20

    Great photos! Fall is my favorite season and they capture it perfectly. We’re still waiting for the leaves to really change color here, but I’m watching carefully. :) Shouldn’t be too much longer.

  7. October 1, 2010 14:22

    lovely photos! and such blue sky!

  8. October 1, 2010 14:27

    I love Autumn, too! …Nearly as much as I love your shoes ;) Happy pedalling!

  9. October 2, 2010 19:19

    I wish we had apple trees like that here! Great photos and great blog.

  10. October 3, 2010 01:42

    I love the blue skies and then the crisp autumn leaves under your bike…fall is without a doubt my favorite time of year!

  11. October 4, 2010 01:29

    Beautiful photos – makes me so excited for fall!

Trackbacks

  1. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

