Skip to content

fiona greets fall

October 6, 2010

There is no doubt that the season has changed and that fall is upon us. Never one to be out of fashion, Fiona has donned her fall attire and retired her summer accessories. Her white flowers have been replaced by reds, yellows, burnt oranges, and browns as she’s taken to wearing her basket and handlebars with autumnal flair.

Fall is such a beautiful time of year in the Midwest and Fiona’s of the mind that she might as well make the most of it. I couldn’t agree with her more.

Fall bike basket

Red and Orange

Fall Raleigh

Added bonus: it’s kind of hard to miss me in traffic this way :)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Gary permalink
    October 6, 2010 13:18

    In the military we call this camouflage.

  2. October 6, 2010 14:00

    I love this so much! Fiona is a lucky girl. I still haven’t decked out my scooter yet – thanks for reminding me!

  3. October 6, 2010 14:25

    I think Fiona has transitioned beautifully from summer to autumn. The colors are a lovely mix up. Though, it is making me want to bake pumpkin pie (is that a bad thing?).

  4. Sr. Helga permalink
    October 6, 2010 16:04

    Fiona is a lovely name for your bike. I took someone’s suggestion of Olivia for my own bike. Looks just like yours, except mine is a Raleigh Sprite.

    She likes the name. What kind of tires did you get for your Fiona? Mine came with the original Dunlop tires, but they are a bit cracked on the sides. I need to replace them.

    • October 6, 2010 16:24

      Mine are also the original tires and are a bit cracked now. I will eventually replace them and I’d like to replace the steel wheels with aluminum ones, but for now, these work. Sorry I can’t be of more help with this!

      • Sr. Helga permalink
        October 6, 2010 19:33

        No problem. I just replaced the tires of my road bike and I also have to wait. When I have money I will replace them. I will keep on looking meanwhile. Thanks!

  5. October 7, 2010 01:54

    Great pictures. Maybe I’ll have to name my bike. How about Clydesdale? He’s 45 pounds of 100% steel so that seems to be a fitting name.

  6. October 7, 2010 02:27

    Adorable! I think I’m going to try to bike to work tomorrow. Thanks for the inspirations. If I do, I’ll post some pictures from the ride home on my blog.

    • October 7, 2010 02:55

      Yay! I’m so happy to hear that, and yes, please do post a follow-up story! I would love to hear all about it!

      • October 7, 2010 14:46

        I am here at work and I am happy to report I biked! I should have taken pictures on the ride in – I saw the lights of the city over the bridge and rowers in the water. I was too worried about getting there (and on time) to stop, but I will take some in the afternoon when I can meander home.
        Thanks for the support!

  7. October 7, 2010 03:46

    Those leaves are beautiful and quite inspirational. A great way to get into the autumn mood!

  8. October 7, 2010 05:06

    Cute! I love your basket with fall decorations!

  9. October 7, 2010 12:49

    How lovely! I think it’s a very good way to be noticed in traffic, good idea!

Trackbacks

  1. 7 October 2010 – For the Birthday Girl! : academichic

Leave a Reply

