Skip to content

foto friday

October 8, 2010

it's scarf weather :)

 

{It’s scarf and sweatshirt weather, yay!}

If you can’t tell, I really love fall. It’s my favorite time of year. Last weekend, it was finally cold enough to pull out a scarf and a cozy sweatshirt. I also kept warm while cycling by indulging in a  hot cup of peppermint mocha. Good thing for that handlebar cup holder!

This weekend, I plan on baking some fall themed desserts…I’m thinking pumpkin bread or pumpkin muffins. How to you enjoy this time of year? Do you have any favorite recipes? And speaking of all things fall, I especially love this Panda shot by ‘Kleiner Tiger’. If that doesn’t make you want to bundle up and hop on your bike, I don’t know what does. Happy riding and happy weekend, everyone!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Janni permalink
    October 8, 2010 13:38

    We enjoy fall by traveling to Denmark for two weeks!

    Drachen steigen lassen an der Nordsee, Krebse fangen an der Ostsee und jeden Tag die Sauna anheizen! Dazu ordentlich Kirsberry (Kirschbeerwein) und dann ist das Wetter auch schon egal…

    Aber es stimmt schon: Herbst ist einfach die schönste (und vor allem farbigste!) Jahreszeit.

  2. October 8, 2010 14:13

    Janni, das klingt einfach traumhaft! Ich beneide euch wie einfach ihr aus Deutschland zu einem anderen Land fahren könnt, das liebe ich an Europa. Hier ist man so weit weg von allem anderen. Und die vielen Thermen und Saunas! Ach, wie schön! :)

    Gute Reise und viel Spaß!

    • Janni permalink
      October 8, 2010 15:52

      Vielen Dank für die netten Wünsche!

      Wir werden ganz besonders auf die Fahrrad-Infrastruktur in Dänemark achten und nachher berichten – dafür nehmen wir schliesslich auch unsere Fahrräder mit…

  3. October 8, 2010 16:12

    ohhh! I’ve written a post about how much I love Autumn too :D for similar reasons to you! I think it’s also a wonderful time to enjoy bike rides!

    LC
    http://www.naturallycyclingmanchester.wordpress.com

    • October 9, 2010 23:48

      Awesome! These look amazing! I had no idea that you and Trina had a food blog – it’s been duly added to my blogroll. I can’t wait to try some of those recipes! Thanks!

  4. October 8, 2010 21:04

    Perfect cycling weather! Enjoy!

  5. October 8, 2010 21:20

    I bake lots of sweet yeast bread filled with apples, raisins and whatever fall fruits I can find.

    Check out pictures.

    http://incarnatewordpostulant.blogspot.com/2010/08/bread-for-journey.html

  6. DedHed permalink
    October 9, 2010 02:34

    Fall is the best season of the year, at least in the Northern part of the country. Love the fall colors, crisp mornings, NO bugs. One of my favorite recipes is for Northland Cranberry pumpkin bread. It’s also that period where I’m not ready to turn on the furnace just yet and start baking to warm up the house. The kids like that part of it, although I’m sure they’d just as soon have the furnace on.
    I’ll be heading up to the Federal forest next week (where I found my Sprite at a yard sale) to camp & grouse hunt and know enough of the locals to have a “in” at the cranberry bog. It’s harvest season and I usually come home with a 5 gallon pail to use and freeze. Then it’s a steady diet of cranberry grouse breast, cranberry chicken, cranberry bread, muffins, pie, cookies etc. until I get sick of it.

    http://www.yummly.com/recipe/Northland-Cranberry_pumpkin-Bread-Recipezaar

  7. October 9, 2010 12:36

    Can you tell me what cup holder you have for your dashboard? I’ve been meaning to get one.

  8. October 9, 2010 23:51

    Thanks for all the amazing food links, everyone! I can’t wait to try so many of these out! S.

  9. October 10, 2010 14:34

    Oh, that scarf! Your taste in clothes is exquisite. I am going to buy some pretty scarves this fall–I’ve been so inspired by you and Tania over at What Would a Nerd Wear.

    I love fresh pumpkin puree and recipes that call for it. After a long hiatus, I’m hoping to make this pumpkin soup, a savory number that uses smoked gouda. Oh, it is so good.
    http://lifeloveandfood24.blogspot.com/2008/11/time-is-now.html

    Happy weekend!

Trackbacks

  1. over the weekend: playing with leaves « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

