Skip to content

ally

October 12, 2010

Ally Panda


{October 11th is National Coming Out Day. I ‘came out’ as an ally.

Read more about it here.}

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 15:27

    That is really a great post, S. It’s easy to forget when a person lives in a fairly open or liberal area that not all are equal in the eyes of the masses, and even in these more supposed accepting areas of the country, hate crimes still occur. I used to work on the CU campus in Boulder, CO (which is extremely liberal in its political stance) and there were always news reports of individuals being attacked on the streets (both students and citizens alike) because they looked different, or dressed differently. Some of the attacks were near-fatal; one was fatal. I will never understand why there is so much hate in the world for other people, but I’m definitely with you in hoping for the day when it’s no longer a requirement to ‘come out’, but rather all are able to live in peace together, regardless of sexuality, race, size, or any other discriminatory subsection that currently exists. Thank you for reminding all of your readers that this is an ongoing subject, and until things change, we do need to constantly ‘come out’ as ally’s.

    • October 12, 2010 16:47

      Allies not ally’s (Ugh! I swear I can spell). I came back to read others’ posts and… well, it was bothering me. Sorry.

  2. October 12, 2010 15:45

    Well done. Thanks for the link to your post on Academic Chic too, good stuff. I sometimes forget too, coming from Portland (which is a liberal city in the midst of a conservative state) that certain issues are really such a big problem in other places. Then again, even in Amsterdam, we saw gay rights parades, so apparently even there, this issue still exists. It will be a happy happy day if we ever get to the place where the differences in people are celebrated rather than feared. Here’s hoping.

  3. October 12, 2010 16:12

    Hiya,

    I’ve read your linked post but just have to ask – what’s an ‘ally’?

    Of course, I’m glad it has nothing to do with bicycle frame materials!

    My workmates constructed a float that our employers entered in this summers pride event in Manchester, along with a bus customised to look like a suitcase. They had a 12 mile drive into town, but thankfully it got there in one piece!

    • October 12, 2010 16:16

      ian- an ‘ally’ is someone who stands in solidarity with a group or a movement. Being an ally in the LGBT community means that you’re probably straight but recognize that not everyone is heterosexual and you support and embrace the equal treatment of ALL individuals, regardless of gender or sexual identity. S.

      • October 12, 2010 22:08

        Aha I see now (and have just read G.Es comment – guess there may be a UK/USA difference in the spelling)

        What a great idea.

  4. October 13, 2010 00:31

    Great post! Count me as an ally as well. I’m not from Alabama but that’s where I live now. Those of you that live in more accepting areas of the country should count yourselves lucky. Although I must say that while Alabama is very conservative, the Gulf Coast area has a more “live and let live” attitude which is cool.

    • October 13, 2010 03:44

      Niklas, yes, I know what you mean. Having spent some time living and working in Mississippi, I do appreciate that where I live now is much more liberal and open than the culture I experienced there. I hope that you’re still able to find like-minded individuals in the South and perhaps even model some positive ‘ally’-ness to others while there :)

  5. October 13, 2010 01:02

    Great picture, great message :)

  6. October 17, 2010 23:18

    A picture says a thousand words! Perfect!

Leave a Reply

