Skip to content

go runners :)

October 13, 2010

My Running Life

This past weekend – the weekend of magnificent weather and beautiful sunshine – we ran a 5K race. My husband, our roommate, another friend of ours, and I all lined up at the Start for what turned out to be a gorgeous fall run.

And once more I was struck by certain things that can only happen in a small town. Like the fact that I ran into so many familiar faces before the race even started. Then even more familiar faces once we were under way, including a student of mine who was volunteering on the course. (Umm…could you look away as I’m passing you all sweaty and red-faced? Thanks.) And then the biggest laugh of all – winning my age group category despite the fact that I am NOT that fast of a runner. I definitely would not be claiming this title in places like Chicago or New York. Or even Des Moines for that matter. But I’m not protesting, I’ll be telling my grandchildren about this one for ages. Bragging rights like this don’t come easy in the city, but here, in the small town I call home, I am a racing superstar! Go runners!

Running Partners

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 13:22

    Great job! Even in a small town, that’s still an accomplishment!

  2. October 13, 2010 13:42

    *wild applause*

  3. October 13, 2010 13:56

    I love your runner on bike photo! I also live in a small town, and I almost always place in local races, AND see a bunch of people I know. It’s one of the things I love about small town life. :)

  4. October 13, 2010 15:17

    Can I have your autograph!?!? :D

    Considering I can barely run 2 miles without dying, I certainly consider any kind of running achievement a huge success, so congrats!

  5. October 13, 2010 22:58

    Haha, thank you, it’s going to be tough to maintain my speed while running now that my head has gotten so big … I think it’s going to be weighing me down.

  6. October 13, 2010 23:02

    superstar! great job :) love that you run with your husband.

    • October 14, 2010 12:52

      Yes, it’s worked out nicely. I got him to start running and do the occasional race, and he’s responsible for my bike mania. We like to share addictions like that :)

  7. October 14, 2010 00:44

    Go S! You rock!

  8. October 14, 2010 02:44

    Yay! Congrats!
    (By the way, I biked again today and I flew past all the cars waiting in traffic. It was fantastic!)

Leave a Reply

