Skip to content

keep calm and [pedal] on

October 28, 2010


After last week’s meltdown, I decided that I need something like this in my home to serve as a daily reminder. Or, for the cycling inclined, I’m a big fan of this print (below) as well, which is also an Etsy find. If you’re more of a roadbike fan, don’t worry, Etsy has something for you too. And if you’re not quite ready to commit to some permanent wall art, then perhaps just a cool 2011 calendar? T., I hope you’re reading this and taking notes!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 17:59

    Our local grocery store sells some coasters that have the “Keep Calm and Carry On” thing on them :) Always good to remember, especially on mornings like today (http://www.portlandize.com/2010/10/inauspicious-mornings.html) :)

  2. kateohkatie permalink
    October 28, 2010 19:22

    LOVE these styles of posters! Did you know there’s one for knitters that says ‘Keep calm and cast on’? I think there’s also one that says ‘Keep calm and knit on’. (in another Etsy shop)

    http://www.laylock.org/blog/2009/12/keep-calm-and-cast-on/

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/38502525/keep-calm-and-knit-on-13×19-print

  3. Maria permalink
    October 28, 2010 19:51

    Usually I’m just reading in silence, but right now I wanted to stop by and say it’s okay to have meltdowns. I have them, many of my colleagues have them, it just seems to be a common thing for many people working in academia (I’m not saying it’s a great thing though).

    I actually got this print for a similar reason: http://www.etsy.com/listing/59570193/so-very-happy-limited-edition

    • October 28, 2010 20:37

      That poster is cute, Maria! It’s funny to see animals with french fries for some reason. I see a lot of people feeding them to squirrels around here, and they always seem so excited about the fry.

      I also agree that occasional meltdowns are completely acceptable. It’s part of the ebb and flow of life, I think. :)

  4. October 28, 2010 21:18

    I agree with Maria’s comment. While meltdowns suck, they are part of life. We all have our highs and lows and the nature of academic work makes them especially likely to occur once or twice a semester.

  5. Lizzie permalink
    January 23, 2011 23:01

    I was looking through your archives and just wanted to say I have the keep calm and ride on written on a Tshirt with a dutch style bike on it – its all in purple (so is my hair) and I own a pashley sonnet bliss so it was the best Tshirt – oh also on sale urban outfitters $10!

Trackbacks

  1. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

