Skip to content

a last hurrah

November 10, 2010

Fall Cycling

After this past weekend’s very cold cycling in Chicago, it came as quite a shock to leave the house and see how warm it was outside today. I soon found myself shedding my vest, mittens, and earmuffs and enjoying what is sure to be a last hurrah for this Midwestern town. It’s November after all, this can’t last!

Apparently, the entire the town had the same idea as people were out everywhere. The park playgrounds were alive with kids and their parents, runners and fellow cyclists crowded the sidewalks and trails, and an almost festive atmosphere filled the air.

I enjoyed the warm weather by stopping and taking some pictures while running my errands after work today. Um, please note the drastic change in backdrop from Saturday’s photo shoot! Yup, I’m back in the country. But on a happier note – after said errands were done, I biked to a most awesome girls’ night that consisted of hot tea, great conversation, and our first installment of Stitch ‘n Bitch. Then, with knitting needles and scarf-in-progress tucked into my basket, I rode home and called it a day. A lovely and deliciously warm November day. Thank you, weather gods!

Fall Cycling

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 04:50

    Today was such a beautiful day in Chi-town, too! I wish I could have ditched work and frolicked outside all day. As you noted, this lovely weather won’t last long.

    I’ve always wanted to join a Stitch ‘n Bitch. I don’t know how to stitch, but I sure know how to bitch. :)

  2. November 10, 2010 06:36

    Such timeless, classic photos. You look so cute!

  3. Janni permalink
    November 10, 2010 12:49

    Warm?! Outside?!

    Da kann man nur neidisch werden – hier in Berlin regnet es zwar nicht und eine milchige Wintersonne beleuchtet die kahlen Bäume, aber die Temperaturen hier entsprechen weitgehend dem, was Du in Chicago erlebt hast.

    Hoffentlich machen bald die Weihnachtsmärkte auf – dann wärmt wenigstens der Glühwein!

  4. Tina permalink
    November 10, 2010 18:17

    The town you live in looks charming and quaint. You are lucky to have such a great place to ride. Your life seems simple and delightful.

    I would love to trade my hour and a half commute in traffic for a lovely bike ride to work instead. Maybe one day, until then, I can dream.

  5. November 10, 2010 18:37

    We’ve officially hit the rainy season here, it seems. Thankfully it hasn’t been super cold, but we’re getting there. Also, thankfully the really dumping rain has saved itself for the middle of the day when I’m sitting in my office, and I’ve just gotten drizzled on… so far :)

    Glad you had a last hurrah, and made the most of it! Cheers!

  6. November 11, 2010 00:55

    Love these photos – the color of your dress matches so well with the season of the outdoor setting. Beautiful!

    SM

  7. November 11, 2010 03:32

    Your photos are gorgeous! I’ve just skimmed back through all of your posts since you started in June. I follow Dottie on Dream Camera and recognised you in one of her photos. I can zoom in my screen and I thought it had to be you, or someone who looked very much like you! Academichic was the first blog I read! I actually was referring to Academichic when I wrote about discovering blogs in my very first post in November last year. Dottie confirmed my sighting and suggested I check out your new blog. It’s gorgeous!

    • November 11, 2010 13:24

      Lucent Imagery – welcome! Thanks for the kind words about my site :) I saw you comment on Dream Camera and thought that was so funny that you recognized me in her picture. It’s great to find another photography, running, and thrifting enthusiast!

  8. November 13, 2010 14:22

    Great photos, great outfit! I just love fall! BTW, can you show us the scarf you are knitting. I am hopefully finishing up knitting a ribbon scarf this weekend, which is a gift for someone. My favorite scarves to knit though, are cable knit ones. Sounds like a perfect day in my book – friends, crafting, cycling, and tea!

Trackbacks

  1. round and round we go « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

