Skip to content

{yellow}

November 15, 2010

So I definitely did not need another bike. My husband’s to blame for finding this yellow beauty on Craigslist and showing me the ad. Then, it just so happened that I turned in a first draft of a chapter of my dissertation last Thursday and I was feeling worthy of a little reward.

Introducing: Bee! My new Peugeot Mixte as of last weekend. She’s a 70s mixte completely rebuilt (only the frame is original) that found its way into my heart. She used to belong to one of the guys at my local bike shop and is in great riding condition having come from such a bike-loving home. And she’s fast! I’m in love. ♥

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna permalink
    November 15, 2010 17:38

    Bee is beautiful!! Can’t wait to read about your adventures with her.

  2. November 15, 2010 17:41

    Ooh, I love it!

  3. November 15, 2010 17:42

    ding ding! i love yellow! and love how she blends beautifully with the leaves.

  4. Gary permalink
    November 15, 2010 17:54

    What a nice looking bike S. It appears to be in pretty good condition. I happen to have a ’69 white Peugeot UO-18 Mixte that I received as payment for restoring a friend’s Raleigh. Mine needs alot of TLC to be on the same level as yours.

    Tell us more about your Mixte and what changes and upgrades were done. Does it still have the original Simplex derailleurs?

    These web sites might interest you:

    http://retropeugeot.com/

    http://www.cyclespeugeot.com/

    Welcome to the Vintage French Bicycle Collectors world.

    Gary

  5. November 15, 2010 18:28

    Oh! Peugeot Mixtes are the best. Judging from the decals, I’d say that Bee is from the same era as Le Peug, which makes me think you’ll be very happy together!

  6. November 15, 2010 18:29

    She is adorable! And a great name to boot.

    You definitely deserve it. Happy riding!

  7. November 15, 2010 19:06

    Awesome find! You realize there is no known cure for this addiction. Enjoy your adventures.

  8. November 15, 2010 21:47

    I love her too!

  9. November 15, 2010 21:58

    What a beauty! But you’re keeping Fiona, right?

  10. November 15, 2010 23:07

    And she’s just born to ride in Autumn. Or at sunset or sunrise. Yellow and orange are complimentary! Is that the right word in colour theory? I’ve forgotten! Either way, I think Bee is going to be well loved.

  11. November 16, 2010 00:11

    oooh! a peugeot UO-8! nice vintage too. is it a singlespeed?

  12. November 16, 2010 00:14

    Of course you deserved a reward! Bee is lovely and I’m looking forward to many more snaps of your adventures together.

  13. November 16, 2010 00:22

    What a beauty and she has the perfect name!

  14. November 16, 2010 03:02

    I always say that I don’t need another bike and maybe I don’t but I’m learning not to make any promises. Good luck. Very nice bike, though.

  15. November 16, 2010 03:46

    Biking makes people happy and yellow is a happy color. A perfect match. Bee is beautiful!

  16. November 18, 2010 09:02

    Awesome color. I’d love to have a mixte too, but currently I don’t have to cycle much so it wouldn’t be worth buying a new bike for the little commutes I do. Plus, my dissertation is far being finished ;).

  17. November 19, 2010 17:12

    That’s too funny! I have a Raleigh named Fiona and I recently got a Peugeot Mixte as well.

    My Fiona is my cargo bike. She’s got a picnic basket on her rear rack and is super heavy duty. Emphasis on the heavy.

    But my new mixte is so zippy!

Leave a Reply

