Skip to content

welcome, my little peugeot mixte

November 16, 2010

Yellow Mixte Remix

So here’s the story on my recent Peugeot acquisition. This bike was rebuilt by a guy from my local bike shop – he received the frame (the one original part left on the bike) as a package deal with the matching ‘his’ version of this bike. He was cleaning out his bike inventory and listed this beauty for sale, and I just couldn’t resist. I’ve always had a thing for mixtes…

Peugeot

This bike is in great running order having come from someone who loves bikes and knew what he was doing when working on one. He explained to me that this is a 70s Peugeot (he didn’t know the exact year), that it used to be a 10-speed, which he converted to a 3-speed with a Sturmey-Archer hub, and that it’s Italian threaded in the front and French threaded in the back. (I’m not quite clear on what that means yet….)

The bike came with fenders, new wheels and tires, a new crank, a very comfortable seat (although not a Brooks, I’m still loving it), front and rear lights, and all-weather brakes (amazing! the stopping power! I’m a convert!).

peugeot mixte

The two things missing: a basket for my bags and a chain guard. The seller (henceforth referred to as my new bike shop BFF) recognized me from having brought in Fiona recently for new wheels. We talked about bikes, vintage 3-speeds, bike commuting, and the upcoming winter cycling season. We bonded and, before long, he hooked me up with a little black chain guard and I added the little black front basket. Black + Yellow = “Bee”!

Since getting the Peugeot, I’ve stopped in many more times at the local bike shop and I want to write more about that soon. Nothing beats having a great bike shop to turn to, where you trust the people and where you can easily get all the advice, answers, parts, and service that you need. Thanks, bike shop on Main Street! You rock! S.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 03:34

    So exciting! What a bike! Like a little bee – I love it.

  2. November 16, 2010 03:55

    Lovely mixte! That Peugeot has such a well-proportioned frame, and that wheelset looks striking. Well done.

    I assume Italian threaded headset and French threaded bottom bracket? Also, I need a detail shot of that new chainguard!

    • November 16, 2010 19:00

      shot of the chain guard is on its way! :)

      And yes about the threading. T. explained it all to me this morning and it’s exactly like you said it.

  3. November 16, 2010 11:56

    Beautiful bike!
    You are lucky to have a reliable bike shop in your town. In my place there’s only a bike shop and the man is very rude. I’m looking forward a new shop opening next week.

  4. November 16, 2010 17:35

    NO WAY! i have a peugeot mixte which i’ve had since college and i am completely crazy about it!!!
    i’m flipping out here.
    the yellow mixte is such a great color, too. do you know what year it’s from?

  5. November 16, 2010 17:35

    whoops, didn’t read carefully enough. i’ve love to see a close up of the other decal sticker, to see if it’s like mine. it would be awesome and wonderful if we had the same model!

    • November 16, 2010 18:59

      Tania – what year is yours? And do you have any close-up shots that show the decals on yours? I’d love to compare and see if we have the same model!

  6. November 17, 2010 03:58

    Such a great find! I love the idea of a mixte with a 3 speed hub. I would love to get a little Peugeot (b/c I need a 3rd mixte, right?) :)

  7. November 17, 2010 03:59

    Beautiful little yellow bike, and a cute fall outfit to go with it. I’ve got to take your picture when you are back in Chicago.

  8. November 18, 2010 09:10

    New bike!

    Now you have the perfect trio: A step through, a roadbike, and a mixte. Have fun, they are all delightful!

Trackbacks

  1. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

