Skip to content

foto friday: primary colors

November 19, 2010

I’ve been switching between Fiona and Bee (pictured above) all week. It’s so nice to have a choice of bikes for every need. Narrow skirt for day at work? Fiona’s step-through frame and upright seating is perfect. A ton of grading, lunch, and a laptop? Fiona’s large rear basket can hold it all. A need for speed? Want to get somewhere quickly and effortlessly? Bee’s light and nimble frame and roadbike tires gets you there. Bikes can be like shoes in that way; you need different pairs to serve different purposes. It’s not being excessive, it’s just being practical. Right? Right!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracy permalink
    November 19, 2010 14:45

    This was my philosophy for strollers when my children were little! We had several, and I used different ones depending on where we were going.

  2. 300 Pound Gorilla permalink
    November 19, 2010 15:53

    Right!

  3. November 19, 2010 15:53

    I do the same… well, sort of… :)

    Except not necessarily for different PURPOSES but more for different LOOKS; sometimes I’m wearing a certain outfit and think; BLUE BIKE! Next day, different outfit, different bike maybe!

    Never thought of it that way actually, but in a way it IS a way a fashion-accessory for me (but I guess its onlybe cause I take a gazillion panda-shots… :)

    xx

  4. November 19, 2010 16:46

    It is really nice having different bikes for different purposes, and it’s something I’m missing right now, not having a good, upright, Dutch city bike to haul stuff on. I love my Raleigh, and it is usable for 90% of what I need to do, but there are certain things a Dutch city bike would be much better equipped for, plus the ride feel is just totally different, and it’s nice to switch it up a bit sometimes.

  5. Janni permalink
    November 19, 2010 22:21

    Right!

    Mir fehlt zu meinen Fahrrädern noch für den Transport von größeren Einkäufen oder für das Mitnehmen eines Kindes (zur Schule) noch ganz dringend ein entsprechendes Cargo-Bike. Und zwar nicht irgend eines. Sondern so eins: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ubrayj02/5097516363/

    Have a nice weekend!

  6. November 20, 2010 02:45

    Right! The more the merrier!

  7. November 20, 2010 06:43

    Gorgeous, as ever! Love the red/blue colours, and the location is fantastic.

  8. November 20, 2010 21:39

    Yay! Blue coat! It is my favorite swingy coat in the universe (too bad I left it a closet many states away during a research trip and will not have it back in my possession until Christmas…)

Leave a Reply

