Skip to content

inspiration: moleskine {bike} art

November 20, 2010

the traveling moleskin

{Image: Leaca’s Philosophy}

A couple of years ago, a friend gifted me a Moleskine notebook for sketching. I’m not much of an artist, but I did fall in love with the beautifully elegant and simple notebook that he gave me. Last year, while I spent a year in Europe, I purchased two small pocket-sized Moleskines that I carried with me at all times. I would jot down impressions, directions, U Bahn Stops, addresses, snippets of funny conversations I’d overhear, and anything else that struck my fancy. I also tried my hand at a sketch or two but I will spare you my embarrassment at sharing those.
Instead, here are some awesome sketches of bicycles and bike art in the moleskines found on Flickr. This makes me wish I were a little more talented with a pencil or paintbrush…

Push bike
{Image: wil_freeborn}

Moleskine_090424

{Image: Kathrin Jebsen-Marwedel}

I love this one because I have been to Dresden and I could have captured the memory as beautifully in my notebook. I wish!

My vice, however, requires more of a penchant for scissors and glue. I’m more of a collage maker than a sketcher.

So here are my bike-related moleskine collages that originated this past spring in Germany. I collect and collage things that make me happy and inspire me at the moment and you can see that bikes were definitely on my mind…

Sweaters & Bikes
Laufen macht glücklich
How about you? Do you draw, sketch, or collage? Or is photography or writing more of your creative outlet? How do you capture and pause the things that inspire you?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Tina permalink
    November 20, 2010 22:06

    I have been making collages since I was 8-years-old. I am very visual and I love to collect pictures and photos that inspire me. I find it is to be therapeutic and relaxing. I hope not to offend you, but as much as I love this blog, I miss seeing you on academichic. I like your style, it is whimsical and cheerful.

    • November 21, 2010 16:44

      Thanks, Tina! I miss academichic too but I just didn’t have the time it requires to maintain a regular presence on a style blog anymore. But I do plan on making some guest appearances again at some point, for now it’s been easier to blog about something that’s been on my mind a lot anyway: bike commuting. I’m glad you enjoy this blog too and thanks for the kind words about my presence on academichic.

  2. November 21, 2010 13:54

    I sketch (perhaps not exaclty drawing), doodle, and such. I get satisfaction from using my hands, hence hobbies such as scrapbooking, cardmaking, knitting, and crocheting. I’ve been meaning to ask you to share your knitting progress with us….Any updates! And I also miss your posts on academichic, but so lucky to enjoy them here!!!
    Thanks!

    • November 21, 2010 16:42

      Maureen – yes, some progress. I made my first scarf and I would love to make a hat and then socks…that’s the order I’m progressing in :) It’s really fun, I’m enjoying knitting a lot. I will have to post a picture of my scarf :)

  3. November 25, 2010 10:01

    I use Moleskin too, but currently I only have a small calender. Don’t really draw pictures in it, but in the old one I had drawn some sketches (not as great as your samples though).

  4. December 3, 2010 01:39

    I have been an exhibiting painter and photographer since 2005 in addition to my (academic) dayjob. Hopefully there will come a point when I can sustain myself entirely with my creative work.

  5. December 8, 2010 23:30

    I’m so excited! I want to go buy a new moleskin for bicycle adventures! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

