Skip to content

holiday shopping by bike

November 28, 2010

Storefront Displays

I got an early start on my holiday shopping this past week. I found myself with some free time on my hands and figured I might as well go for a bike ride and work in some early holiday shopping while at it. Since I wasn’t planning on purchasing anything that big, a bike basket would be perfectly capable of hauling my finds back home.

My first stop – Aldi. Perhaps your familiar with this German chain store that’s made its way over to the US as well? I was hoping to find some chocolate Adventskalender, but no such luck. Instead, I did nab some of my favorite dark chocolates ever and a bag of Haribo gummy bears for T. (Haribo macht Kinder froh, und Erwachsene ebenso…)

Basket_case

Then I moved on to Borders and Best Buy where I was hoping to find some books and gadgets that were on my gift list. I was welcomed to Borders by a hot pink plastic Christmas tree… nothing says holidays like pink plastic, right?

Pink Tree

Books

Books

After having found what I needed, I loaded up my bike basket and ventured home. But not without a quick ride through the more quaint historic Main Street, where I knew I’d encounter more holiday lights and prettily decorated storefront windows.

IMG_6398

Silver and Blue

Snowflake Lights

Not to be left out, my favorite bike shop had its own festive display ready to go. I love the tiny dangling bikes along with the snowflakes.

Snowflakes and bikes

IMG_6393

Have you started your holiday gift gathering yet? I’m pretty bad and usually don’t start very early. I consider late November to be a respectably early start to it all. And are you planning on running any of your holiday errands on bike?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 03:26

    This is such a sweet, happy post. I love the holidays! All the decorations and food. Haribo happens to be my very favorite gummy bear. I’m pretty terrible at gifts. Every year I usually tell my family that my being there (buying plane ticket and flying during the rush) is my gift. This year I’ll try to bring some framed prints as part of the (inexpensive) package. :)

  2. November 29, 2010 21:57

    One of my main reasons for getting a bike was my desire to bike down the road to Aldi. While I have yet to do this (I bike tons of other places, however), I do love Aldi. I had no idea it had German connections! Enjoying fall foliage while biking was so lovely; I cannot wait to enjoy the Christmas decor. Your photos really inspire me!

  3. Christina permalink
    November 29, 2010 23:39

    You are so lucky to be able to bicycle to Aldis! My Aldis is within an easy bike commute regarding mileage, however it requires crossing a very scary 3 lane in all directions intersection that pulls off traffic from an interstate. I don’t know if I’ll ever risk it, but I can easily bike to a Super Target so I’m somewhat appeased. :-)

    Don’t know how I stumbled upon your blog but it often makes me have Heimweh. I’m an American with a German mother and lived most of my life in Germany but now make the Midwest home. I have my challenges making the two cultures work from time to time, but I’m getting there. Haribo macht Kinder froh, now if Aldis would just start selling Kinderschokolade, we’d be good to go!

  4. November 30, 2010 00:53

    I have never shopped for the holidays by bicycle, but would if our infrastructure was a bit more conducive to biking and made it easier. Though small improvements are being made. The pictures are lovely as usual and capture the holiday spirit nicely. Just what I needed to see to get into the spirit. I tend to get a little blue when the winter cold and darkkness arrives. A good ride around the block to see all the Christmas lights usually helps to lift the spirit.

  5. November 30, 2010 04:07

    I did a little holiday shopping – online! I love your pictures, your town looks so beautiful! Glad you got a chance to enjoy it – though I can’t picture you with free time!

  6. November 30, 2010 04:59

    oh I had to look aldi up – we dont have them here in SF, but we are not very big-store friendly =)
    I think also all borders and barnes+noble are out of the city? not sure
    anyway, that pink tree!! so awesome, I been looking for one all over town, might have to turn to the interwebs.. =)
    yay holiday posts, I luvs them!!
    ♥xxomeli

    • November 30, 2010 13:34

      Meli, I so hope you find a pink Xmas tree – that would be so perfect for how I image you celebrating the holidays :) :)

  7. November 30, 2010 13:34

    Yay for all the Aldi love :)

  8. November 30, 2010 18:05

    I adore Aldis and Trader Joe’s (I think they’re related), but unfortunately they don’t have any in Houston. Living in Houston also puts a damper on me biking around to do holiday shopping, but as I’m getting more confident on biking in the city, I’m hoping to do more everyday things with it. Great photos- your city is dressed up great for the holidays!

  9. December 1, 2010 02:04

    Those pictures can put anyone in the holiday spirit. I think I need to carry my camera on my next shopping night. I love the bicycle ornaments in the window. – P

  10. donna permalink
    December 1, 2010 02:58

    I love it when people post picks of the books they are reading. I find a lot of great reads that way. That book on farming looks interesting so I’m off to order it.

    • December 1, 2010 13:48

      Donna, I just started it so I can’t vouch for it, but it sounds very interesting and would love to hear what you think too.

  11. December 3, 2010 19:51

    i know it’s been said but ima say it again: hairbo is the BEST gummy bear on earth. and I’ve tried my fair share. ask my dentist …. happy holidays! :)

Trackbacks

  1. where the bike lane meets the sidewalk « Simply Bike
  2. off the beaten path « Simply Bike
  3. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

