Skip to content

{my week in pictures}

December 3, 2010

Baking Bread

Homemade Bread

Finally learned how to make break and baked my first loaf. While sipping coffee out of my awesome new birthday mug courtesy of A. Thank you!

Momentum Magazine

Louie and Momentum

Got the latest issues of Momentum and Bitch Magazine in the mail… so many good reads. Bonus: got to see the panda shot of T. & I in print, Louie was much impressed.

Bikey Remix Winter

Bikey Remix Winter

Biked to work and around town every day. Some days were colder than others, some days brought the first snow flurries, and some were incredibly windy. All were fun. :)

Holiday Lights

Snowman Lights

Stopped to photograph more holidays lights on my way home.

IMG_6486

And got the most beautiful bike bell for Bee! Stay tuned for more information on this and the chance to win your own lovely dringdring bell on Monday!

How was your week?

Wishing all of you a great weekend!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna permalink
    December 3, 2010 15:11

    I love your new bicycle mug! Can’t wait to learn more about Bee’s new bell…have a great weekend.

  2. December 3, 2010 15:50

    I’ll stay tuned! ;o)

    Lovely mug and how swéét… your adorable cat!

  3. December 3, 2010 16:07

    That bread looks lovely – better than the ones I’ve tried (though I haven’t tried a square loaf like that yet, which I’ve been wanting to try. My breads have always come out decent, but really dense.

    I have the D mug from Anthropologie to match your S mug, and I use it for a shaving mug (my shaving soap sits in the mug) http://www.flickr.com/photos/poetas/4842583082/

    Hello Louie, it’s nice to meet you, and it’s good to know you’re both a literary cat, and a fan of bicycle photography. Our cats just like food.

    Also, just to reiterate, I love that blue coat.

    Happy Winter!

    • December 3, 2010 22:50

      Dave – I used the easiest recipe possible and we really liked the results. It was more of a light and fluffy bread, which we like. Here is the recipe I used:

      http://breadbaking.about.com/od/yeastbreads/r/1loafbread.htm

      I’d like to get a starter going that I could just keep taking from to make weekly breads.

      Also – I love your home, so delightful and cozy :)

      And yes, Louie is a cat of many interests. Especially chipmunks, good magazines, and ham.

      • December 3, 2010 22:51

        oh yeah, our cats like squirrels too :)

      • December 3, 2010 22:52

        Though I guess you could say that’s because squirrel = food, so really they still just like food.

  4. December 3, 2010 20:45

    Wow, your cat is beautiful! I used to have one who looked a lot like him (Fizzgig, named from The Dark Crystal). Give him a big snuggle from me!

    • December 3, 2010 20:48

      Heh, one of our neighbors in our old apartment had a cat that we always called Fizgig (I forgot what it’s real name was) :)

    • December 3, 2010 22:50

      What a great name!

  5. December 3, 2010 20:55

    Congrats on the magazine photo! I love the printed skirt you’re wearing in the first photo — what a great look.

    That looks like a great loaf of bread — well done! I’m sure you’ve seen these, but if you decide to get more in to bread baking, check out the Peter Reinhart books — they’re super clear and extremely informative about breadbaking methodologies (and of course, as a fellow theory-head, I’m all about methodologies!).

    I hope you and T. are enjoying a peaceful and productive end of the semester!

    • December 3, 2010 22:53

      Thanks for the tip! I didn’t know of the Peter Reinhart books, I will have to look those up at the library. I want to learn of different recipes and to try different kinds of breads.

      And thanks – hope your semester is coming to a good end as well. I’m getting ready to give my students their finals, can’t believe we’re there already!

  6. December 3, 2010 23:04

    You’re welcome :) Glad you are enjoying it!

    A.

  7. December 3, 2010 23:57

    precious kitty, mug, xmas decorations, and bell. don’t you just love the spirit of the holidays?

  8. danapple permalink
    December 4, 2010 01:24

    S,

    The bread you made looks delicious! My wife and I make bread using a bread machine, which is pretty easy, and the result is great. Having fresh bread from good ingredients is so much better than what we can find in the stores.

    My week was OK, but definitely didn’t involve receiving magazines with my picture in them. How cool!

    We did, however, find a green men’s Raleigh Sports from before 1964 in my wife’s parents’ basement. I seem to recall you have a matching men’s bike to your lady’s version. The one we found had a center stand on it; well, it did until we appropriated the stand to put on her 1959 Raleigh Sports which is still running strong.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

    Dan.

  9. December 4, 2010 04:43

    Bitch Magazine huh? I’ll have to check that one out one day :) Your blog keeps reminding me I need to take a camera wherever I go. Great pictures.

  10. Janni permalink
    December 4, 2010 17:29

    Ich wünsche ein schönes zweites Adventswochenende – die Bilder sind wunderschön!

    Bei dem Brot musste ich daran denken, dass im dem Dorf, wo ich früher wohnte, die alten Frauen alle zwei Wochen zum Backhaus (holzgefeuert wie in Grimms Märchen) gehen und dann mit Schubkarren voller Brot nach Hause kommen. Der Geruch… – traumhaft!

  11. December 4, 2010 23:28

    Baking bread is so much fun! It tastes so much better than store bought bread.

  12. December 6, 2010 03:13

    Love that cup, the cat, and it’s nice to see Fiona again. Though I do look forward to seeing Bee with that beautiful bike bell.

Trackbacks

  1. new year’s resolutions « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

