Skip to content

inspiration: bike belts

December 18, 2010

{Source: Adrienne Johnson SF}

I love the idea of using old belts as an alternative to bungee chords for securing items on your bike rack. Thanks, Adrienne, for the idea!

You can find Adrienne on the awesome site Change your Life, Ride a Bike, where she chronicles bike riding with her family of four in San Francisco. Or on Flickr, where I first came across her about a year and a half ago, when first starting to ride…

Not A Soccer Mom (111/365)

{Image: Adrienne Johnson SF}

This (above) picture of hers, which I bookmarked right away, was one of my first findings in the ‘chic cyclists who wear everyday clothes’ category that inspired me to start cycling in dresses and regular clothing. Rock on, Adrienne!

(Also, remember how nice it was to cycle in warm weather? Sigh…)

Sally Army Run

{Image: Adrienne Johnson SF}

Who are your bike muses?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Janni permalink
    December 19, 2010 11:52

    Aua – was für ein gruseliges Bild: Ungesichertes Kleinkind auf Fahrradgepäckträger…

    Ungeschützte kleine Füße direkt neben den Speichen, kein Helm, nicht angeschnallt, die Finger direkt an den Spiralfedern des Sattels – solche Mütter sollte man gleich wegen versuchter schwerer Körperverletzung anklagen.

    Tja, wenn “stylish sein” eben wichtiger ist als die körperliche Unversehrtheit des Nachwuchses (hoffentlich ist es wenigstens der eigene…).

  2. December 20, 2010 01:52

    My inspiration is a 70 year old man in Louisville, Ky. Councilman Tom Owen, who I worked for as his LA. He bikes everywhere, never grandstands or lectures about it; it’s just what he does. In terms of fashion inspiration, probably following all the other women who blog about bicycling is a constant inspiration. I think there is such a joie de vivre to them all, regardless of their particular style of dress. It is that joy of living and being oneself that truly inspires.

  3. December 20, 2010 11:35

    Thanks for the idea of the belts!
    My muses are Dottie and Trisha from Let’s go ride a bike.
    But I also think Adrienne is pretty cool :)

  4. December 21, 2010 02:58

    Aw, thanks Nuresma {blush}

    Adrienne is definitely a muse – she’s bad ass!

  5. December 22, 2010 02:37

    My, my! I find myself in all kinds of places : ) Thank you for the lovely post, S.!!! I am flattered and honored to be included here!

  6. December 23, 2010 09:56

    My muses (of blogland) are the girls at LGRAB but most of all Meli of Bikes and The City :) They showed me, as I was getting back into using my bike everyday, that cycling is fun and makes you feel good and alive, plus it’s a great way to see the city, I love seeing Chicago, Nashville and SF through their bikes’ eyes :)

    Merry Christmas S! All the best for the coming year!!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

