Skip to content

happy new year!

January 1, 2011

Family Portrait 2010

… from our family to yours!

We’re working on a family tradition of taking a family portrait with our camera and self-timer (set to take a round of shots in quick succession in hopes of getting one good one) and I thought I’d share our 2010 end-of-the-year family picture with you today. We first attempted this two years ago on New Year’s Eve, when Indie was still a pup and her and Louie were just starting to get along. We thought that surely, this year, as she’s older and more mature and the two of them get on famously, we’d have an easy time getting everyone to sit and face the camera. Hmmm… maybe we need another year or two of training (enjoy the out-takes! oh, and some of these should come with a little black box covering Indie’s unmentionables, but alas, they don’t. Consider yourself warned.)…

Family Portrait 2010

Family Portrait 2010

Family Portrait 2010

Family Portrait 2010

Family Portrait 2010

Family Portrait 2010

*No animals were harmed in the making of this photo shoot.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. welshcyclist permalink
    January 1, 2011 19:27

    You’ve a great family, stay happy and keep cycling in 2011, Happy New Year

  2. January 1, 2011 19:28

    I love how Louie is giving Indie a death glare in that first picture.

  3. January 1, 2011 20:27

    Oh these are hilarious!!! Happy new year lovely lady.

  4. January 1, 2011 23:37

    so adorbs!!! thanks for sharing with us, such sweet shots. +your kitteh is **soooo cute**
    (can you tell im a huge cat lover!?) ;-)))
    xxo♥meli

  5. Dave permalink
    January 2, 2011 18:03

    Those are fantastic :) looks like it was a fun photoshoot, even if it wasn’t quite as calm as you hoped :) I love the decoration on those tights (having a wife who works for a sock retailer has gotten me in the habit of noticing those kinds of things) :)

    Happy New Year from Portland!

  6. January 2, 2011 18:29

    Happy newyear to you too!!

  7. January 3, 2011 02:12

    Bwahaha! I love your tights and these photos are hysterical!

    Happy New Year!

  8. January 3, 2011 03:11

    Thanks, all!

    On a side note – I love those tights! They were an awesome Xmas gift from my mom, purchased at Anthropologie. Just in case anyone’s interested in going out and tracking those down. :)

  9. January 3, 2011 14:37

    :D super shots! kitty&dog love… well… shown in their own way ;) xoxo

  10. Tracy permalink
    January 3, 2011 21:45

    This is the cutest thing I’ve seen on the internet. Thanks for sharing. Your cat has an awesome look of disdain in the first photo, and in the last photo your dog looks possessed (but in the sweetest way possible).

  11. January 6, 2011 04:28

    Your tights are so cute. These photos are hilarious!

  12. January 6, 2011 05:12

    Happy new year to you guys, too! Hope it is a wonderful year for you and your family.

  13. Alison permalink
    January 6, 2011 20:23

    Ok now you got me crying, I’m laughing so hard. The one of you holding Indie’s back end up and your hubby holding her tail just got me. That is so funny!!!!

  14. January 6, 2011 20:48

    Hahaha! Love the way the colour of your cat works with the colour of your dress. Nice tights!

  15. Heidi permalink
    January 10, 2011 05:48

    Love the tights! Love them!

    And all your animals are adorable!

    I think I am an alum of the school you go to/teach at. The photos of campus and around town look very familar. I’m guessing you’re at ISU in A. :) I miss campus. One of the prettiest I’ve ever been on… But it’s a frozen tundra this time of year…brrr…I remember many chilly walks as an undergrad to the College of Design. Yikes. Enjoy your time there! I couldn’t wait to leave, but now, looking back, I sort of miss it! Cool little downtown and nice, small campus for the Midwest.

    • January 10, 2011 13:04

      Heidi – you’ve guessed it! That’s where I am :) You’re right, I need to enjoy it while here because it’s not so bad, it’s all starting to grow on me. Glad I can show you bits and pieces of your alma matter!

      • Heidi permalink
        January 10, 2011 15:33

        :)

        I can understand how you feel. I wasn’t particularly thrilled to be there for my four years of undergrad. I thought I should have chosen somewhere much more urban and exciting! But the school had a good program for my field (and it’s worked out well for me in my career some 10 years later)…

        Anyway, I hope you do enjoy living there. It actually is quite bikable, maybe even more so than some urban areas with more complete streets and designated biking facilities. I used to follow you on Academichic and I was thrilled to see your news this morning and to hear you’ll be contributing again on academichic. Excellent! And good luck and congratulations! As a mom who balances a career and motherhood with interests in fashion and biking, I’ll be curious to see how you find balance between parenthood and Academia. :)

  16. January 11, 2011 08:04

    Ahahah! Some of those are hysterical – especially the one of the dog upsidedown!

  17. January 12, 2011 23:37

    The one where you are holding your dog upside down made me laugh out loud. Like serious LOLing.

Trackbacks

  1. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

