Skip to content

new year’s resolutions

January 1, 2011

monday's list.
{image source: sfgirlbybay}

I hope you had a wonderful New Year’s Eve and I wish you all the best for this coming year! Did you make a New Year’s Resolutions list last night? I’m a big list maker and I usually like taking the time at the end of a year to take stock of my life and set some goals for the year to come. It’s very Type-A personality of me and I’m ok with that.

Last night I did not make a list, however. That’s because I made a much grander list back in November when I turned 28. I decided to make a ’30 before 30′ list inspiring me to get some of those big and little goals and plans checked off in the next two years.

Some of my 30 items are just small things that I’ve been wanting to do forever, but never seem to actually do. Like learn to bake bread (checked off in December, it was an easy one) or knit a sweater (currently working on it). Other items are bigger (finish my dissertation!!) and loftier (return to Europe, take at least two more city tours on bike).

I’m not ready to share my entire list yet but I am very excited to unveil some of the items on it as they materialize. I’m looking forward to this year to come, I have some wonderful projects in sight, bike-related and other, and I cannot wait to share them with you as the time is right.

I hope 2011 is a great year for you as well! Are you starting out with any goals or plans for it? What would be on your ‘___ before ____’ list?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2011 16:15

    I’m working on an 11 in 2011 list right now. Most of the goals I’m writing down are pretty achievable – finally knitting a wool sweater (that isn’t itchy or otherwise awful) is on my list too :)
    I’m bad at procrastinating sometimes, so the structure of having a list is good for me, because I’m more likely to actually get around to it.

  2. January 1, 2011 17:12

    :D I am a bit list-writing lover too!! I was so excited last night, in welcoming the new year that I turned my laptop on and wrote my list too, neatly defined between professional goals and personal ones :D there’s something thrilling about making lists and then ticking things off as you achieve your goals eheh! Happy New Year! I look forward to continuing reading your great blog! LC xxx

  3. January 1, 2011 18:19

    I actually have a “to-be-done-before-turning-thirty to-do list” myself. But for me it’s only about 7 more months. Last week I tackled the biggest goal on it and actually ticked it off. Everything else will be a piece of cake after that :). I also have small stuff like write an Essay about 3D movies, sort through your old pictures, find out how to burn a CD with Xubuntu… on it; and bigger goals like find the perfect apartment to buy (that’s not ticked off yet, but we are working on it feverishly). Good luck to you and your list and a productive and happy year 2011! Nora

  4. January 1, 2011 20:31

    On my list for the coming year is to take at least two bike tours. I’ve already booked one, and have looked into information on another this past week. I have some big decisions to make, but those will take longer to figure out. Looking forward to a wonderful year, and reading more about your list accomplishments!

  5. January 2, 2011 13:15

    S., I would love your advice on something.
    I am moving to a new town for my post doc and when I was there for the interview I was thrilled to see bikes whizzing all over the place. It seems that this town has made a lot of effort to make biking a viable option for residents and it’s wonderful, because it was something I wanted to do but felt rather uncomfortable about in my old town.
    So I’m at the point where I am looking at apartments online and it struck me that perhaps I am being a little naive in looking at the distances from A to B on Google maps and thinking, “Sure, I could cycle that”. I wanted to ask you about what you think are manageable distances, or what sort of obstacles would you watch out for. I’m sure it probably depends on the cyclist and levels of fitness and experience, but I would still love your opinion!

    • January 2, 2011 16:27

      A – congrats on finishing your PhD and landing a post doc!! Wonderful news!

      As for daily biking distances – I have a very short commute from my house to campus. It’s just under 2 miles and it takes me 10 minutes. I could easily go longer as I’m sure most people of basic fitness could – 10 minutes of cycling barely has you even warm up. To go from my house to the ‘downtown’ area it’s something around 4 miles. At first that seemed long to me but after a little while of doing that distance, it became easily manageable. I would say that up to a 5 mile commute (one way) is totally doable and would double as a great work out without even having to take extra time out of your day. I imagine that would take around half hour or so, which may sound long, but can be quite enjoyable when you’re riding along on your bike.

      My husband bikes 7 miles to work (14 round trip) but doesn’t do it on a daily basis because he doesn’t always get out of the house in time. If your commute is on the longer side, it doesn’t have to be an all or nothing thing: you may decide to aim for three days a week of a 40 min. bike ride to work and opt to take public transport/drive the other days.

      When I was in Chicago in November, it was about 8 miles from my hosts’ house to my conference hotel and I biked that 2 mornings in a row. It seemed far but was not that physically taxing because it was on a paved path and it was pretty flat. I took in the scenery and enjoyed the long ride there.

      If your commute is a little outside of your fitness level at first, I’d start by biking every other day or three days a week and building up endurance gradually. I was amazed to see how after my first month of bike commuting last summer, everything that had initially seemed like a long route to me, felt so much shorter all of the sudden!

      Hope these tips help! Good luck with the apartment hunt and good luck with the new job as well!

  6. January 5, 2011 16:56

    I just turned 28 myself on the 1st of Jan :) I am a list lover too and a few years back (6 maybe) that was my favourite procrastination tool. At that time I did my “before 30” kind of list and am happy to think pretty much the gist of what I wanted to do before 30 is either done or on its way. I finished my degree, found my first “real-world” job on my own (don’t judge, where I come from that’s not that common) and it was as short as I wanted it to be but long enough for me to experience life outside my comfort zone (it was a 6-month internship in one of the EU agencies in Vienna, and I had lived in Portugal all my life up until then). I then returned to academia and started my PhD in the south of England. I met my boyfriend, adopted a dog, travelled to a very far away and exciting country (New Zealand), travelled to Seattle (somehow, that was also on my list too) and will hopefully finish my PhD just before I turn 30 in 2013. This last one was on the top of my list. I’m pretty happy with the experiences I’ve been having in my 20’s. I know some of them resulted from my list-making. I think it is now time to get down to write another listt, a 30 before 30 or an 11 in 2011. Thank you for the inspiration!

Trackbacks

  1. big news ! « Simply Bike
  2. Simply Bike » big news !

Leave a Reply

