Skip to content

big news !

January 10, 2011

11 Weeks Pregnant

Ok, so you know how I said that I had fun plans for this blog that coincided with my ‘30 before 30‘ list? So, without further ado, I’m thrilled to announce my biggest and most exciting project going on at the moment…

11 Weeks Pregnant

Our baby! Due July 2011! These pictures were taken last week when I was 11 weeks pregnant, before getting on my bike and cycling to a coffee shop and then a friend’s house. I’m now 12 weeks along (3 months) and just finishing my first trimester. I’m feeling great and am very excited for this little nugget soon to join our lives.

My plans for Simply Bike this coming year is to use it as a space to chronicle my adventures of cycling (and running) for two, while continuing to talk about the logistics of daily bike commuting and healthy, happy living.

(I will also be contributing regularly to academichic on matters of maternity wear and pregnancy in academia).

11 Weeks Pregnant

We are so happy and excited about this new addition to our family and I hope you will enjoy following my journey to becoming a mom, with a ton more bike rides and running posts along the way.

♥ The happy parents to be:

59 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 13:07

    Yeah! Congratulations, that is so brilliant!

  2. Janni permalink
    January 10, 2011 13:17

    Herzlichen Glückwunsch – was für eine tolle Nachricht und Überraschung!!

    Jetzt beginnt für Dich ein halbes Jahr, das Du ganz ausschliesslich Dir widmen solltest. Mit viel Vorfreude solltest Du noch einmal alle Sachen machen, die man nur alleine tun kann! Fahrradfahren gehört auf jeden Fall dazu, das geht noch gaaaanz lange!!

  3. January 10, 2011 13:23

    Congratulations!!

    I’m looking forward to following your journey.

    Enjoy :-)

  4. January 10, 2011 13:30

    Congrats! Herzlichen Glückwunsch! I knew it as soon as I saw the headline. :)

  5. January 10, 2011 13:43

    Mazel tov, beautiful! I’m delighted for you both! Well, all three of you, I suppose!

  6. Blume permalink
    January 10, 2011 13:57

    Looking forward to the posts in a year or so about choosing a child seat for your bike!

  7. January 10, 2011 14:11

    Congratulations!! Thrilling news. So happy for you.

  8. steve permalink
    January 10, 2011 14:18

    Congratulations! Baby name contest? LOL…Thanks for sharing your life here on the net. I truly look forward to this blog’s new postings and comments.

  9. January 10, 2011 14:27

    Yay! Congrats! My first was due in July, but came in June… just keepin’ ya on your toes. :)

  10. January 10, 2011 14:39

    Congratulations! And I’m very happy to see you back on academichic, too, as I like your style a lot :-)

  11. January 10, 2011 15:03

    Oh my gosh, this is so exciting!!! I am so happy for you. Yay!!

  12. Christina permalink
    January 10, 2011 15:13

    Congratulations! Loads of well wishes for the remaining months of this new journey for you. I have a nearly 5 year old “princess” now and it is the most precious part of my entire life and will clearly always be so.

    • Christina permalink
      January 10, 2011 15:16

      Meant to add – I love using our pull along bicycle trailer as opposed to having the child up on my bike in carriers. I’m always worried that if I would fall, so would my child! :-) Of course she is now starting to ride her own bicycle. Looking forward to your experiences in these aspects!

  13. January 10, 2011 15:33

    Congratulations! I am very much looking forward to finding out how you will manage this journey and what it has in store for you! Enjoy!!!

  14. January 10, 2011 15:53

    Awww… huge congrats to both of you (and the fur-children of course, as well)!! That is indeed some big news. Thanks for including all of us in your news. Look forward to reading more in the coming months.

  15. January 10, 2011 16:43

    I don’t know if I’d be brave enough to ride with a bun in my oven but I’m cheering you on!
    You look like Katie Holmes in the bottom pic- I love it!

    Congrats!
    Julie

  16. January 10, 2011 16:52

    Congrats!!!!!

    The first thing to teach your kid-RIDE A BIKE!

    Take care! =)

    CONGRATS again….

  17. January 10, 2011 17:22

    Ce surpriză! Wow! It feels like everyone we know is getting pregnant lately :) Congratulations, and as in all things, best and warmest wishes. Looking forward to seeing how you get along on the bike while pregnant and then toting the newly-baked bun around after :)

  18. January 10, 2011 17:27

    Wow, congratulations to you both, that’s great news :>)

  19. January 10, 2011 17:39

    Wahoo! Just following your blog so far, I know you are going to be such a darling mom. Congrats!

  20. Bridget permalink
    January 10, 2011 18:29

    Congratulations! I am looking forward to reading about your biking with a plus one!

  21. January 10, 2011 19:20

    Congratulations!

  22. January 10, 2011 19:24

    Oh CONGRATULATIONS! How wonderful! I am so thrilled for you :)

  23. January 10, 2011 20:03

    Wow! Just commented on academichic but I wanted to say it again, here: congratulations! 2011 is going to be a big year indeed!
    xoxo

  24. January 10, 2011 20:31

    Oh dear love.. Congratulations!! What a wonderful news! I really wish you (and your lover) all the best with the coming 6 months and your new life as a mom and dad.

    And than I have to tell you… Do you remember my question about cycling in the snow? Well.. I haven’t done it. You know why? Because my biggest fear was to slip away with our little boy at the back of my bike and… our little baby in my belly! ;o)

    Now I am in my last nine weeks of pregnancy, I have to admit that I am taking the car each day instead of taking my bike… I know.. I feel ashamed…

    But I hope to start a daily walk when our little one is born (in March). That has to be at least 80 minutes, so good for my body, good for the money and good for the environment. Right? ;o)

    All the best from a cold Holland!

    • January 11, 2011 00:04

      No shame in being safe at the end of your pregnancy! Enjoy those last few weeks and all the best for the arrival of your new little one!

      I’m sure you’ll be back on your bike afterwards in no time!

      S.

  25. January 10, 2011 20:33

    Oh.. By the way: you are looking good mummy! ;o)

  26. January 10, 2011 22:17

    Congratulations, I’m really happy for you two!!! Being a parent is the best thing ever – with all its ups and downs you always end up UP!!!

  27. January 10, 2011 22:26

    Congratulations! I can’t wait to see your baby on a baby chair on your bike (I know that will probably happen much later on…) Congratulations!

  28. January 10, 2011 22:45

    What wonderful news! Congratulations!!!

  29. Maria permalink
    January 10, 2011 22:50

    Congratulations! This is such exciting news.

    I thought you might get a kick out of another bike-loving mother-to-be who miked herself to the hospital to deliver her baby:

    http://www.jsonline.com/blogs/lifestyle/113015499.html

    • January 11, 2011 00:07

      Awesome story, thanks for the link! I was pointed towards it by another reader who spotted the story on Jazebel. I think I’ll need to do a post on it!

  30. January 10, 2011 23:21

    How exciting! Congratulations to you and your husband! I’m at the end of my 2nd trimester and it is so much more exciting than the first :) (I think it will be thes best trimester because I’ll be getting super impatient to meet the little fella come the 3rd trimester) Feeling the baby kick and seeing the 3D ultrasound pictures will just blow your mind :) Congrats again!!

  31. January 10, 2011 23:31

    Congrats, S!!

  32. January 10, 2011 23:46

    Congratulations! You’re going to be such a great mom! Love the second of photo of you – made me smile.

  33. January 11, 2011 00:09

    Thank you for all your nice words and well wishes, everyone! I’m excited to keep posting about cycling while preggers and then shaping little cycle enthusiasts afterwards. :)

    S.

  34. Donna permalink
    January 11, 2011 00:29

    Congrats to you and your husband. Looking forward to reading about your new “project”.

  35. January 11, 2011 01:44

    I could tell you had plans . . heehee! So excited for you and your hubby! (So VERY excited that I had to tell you twice, once on each blog!)

  36. Chloe permalink
    January 11, 2011 02:21

    congratulations!!! i bet your baby will have the cutest little helmets and bikes ever. :) xo

  37. January 11, 2011 03:10

    Congratulations! How exciting!! I hope you are feeling good.

  38. January 11, 2011 05:00

    Wow, that’s quite a surprise. :) Congratulations.

    Nico

  39. January 11, 2011 05:29

    Congratulations!! I’m due around the same time as you – so I’m especially interested to see how you manage dressing and other aspects of being pregnant. Anyway, you look great!

  40. January 11, 2011 05:59

    Congratulations! Next up – a cargo bike!

  41. Julia permalink
    January 11, 2011 06:45

    So happy for you and your hubs!! You guys are going to be such awesome parents!! Can’t wait to read about your preggers bicycling adventures and maternity wear. Your enthusiasm for it all is so infectious. LOVE your blog!!
    Congratulations

  42. January 11, 2011 11:09

    Congratulations!! Really great news!

  43. January 11, 2011 12:07

    Congratulations!! This is really wonderful news! I look forward to reading about your pregnancy and cycling adventures, because when one day it may be my time to become a mum I really don’t want to give up cycling :D

  44. sara permalink
    January 11, 2011 14:17

    Congratulations! I’m thrilled for both of you!

  45. Patricia permalink
    January 11, 2011 15:07

    I knew it! It was the first thing I thought of when you announced big plans for the future! Congratulations – I’m looking forward to following your journey both here and on Academichic. I wish you had all been blogging when I was pregnant!

  46. January 11, 2011 16:45

    congratulations! obviously a natural progresssion from biking in dresses to bike dates to biking while pregnant. and then of course, biking with baby! can:t wait to see what you:ve made. <3

  47. Melissa @ HerGreenLife permalink
    January 11, 2011 20:41

    Congratulations! I’ve not made the big blog announcement yet, but I’m also due in July. I’m planning/hoping to keep cycling right up until the end.

    • January 12, 2011 01:33

      Yay, congratulations to you too! We can compare notes along the way, how fun!

  48. January 12, 2011 06:14

    Congratulations!

  49. Nancy permalink
    January 12, 2011 17:42

    Oh my gosh!! Congratulations!!!
    I’ve been catching up on blogs since I got back from Christmas break and was reading your latest post, were you mentioned being pregnant, and I thought “Wait…..what?!?” That’s such exciting news!

  50. January 14, 2011 17:27

    Oh, I missed the announcement, so I’m a bit late in saying congrats! That is so exciting! You’ll be a fabulous mom!

  51. January 14, 2011 18:41

    I’m a little late too, but the news is still new, right? Congratulations, S.! I’m happy for you and wish you a wonderful, safe pregnancy. xo

  52. January 16, 2011 00:16

    Congratulations!

  53. February 9, 2011 00:31

    Congratulations!!!

    Riding with kids can be SO much fun. It’s like the joy of cycling rediscovered all over again.

    Cycling the kids to school

Trackbacks

  1. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

