Skip to content

sunny days in winter

February 16, 2011

IMG_4544

We’ve been enjoying some wonderful warm weather here this week and it’s made riding a bike pure joy again. I even pulled out Bee, as you can see from this and from my last post. With the roads cleared, I can ride on a bike with skinnier tires again, and I’m amazed at how much faster I can go with less effort. Yay for my Peugeot mixte, love this bike!

It’s also been so nice to ride without a long down coat, multiple layers, gloves, scarf, hat, etc etc. Just a dress, warm boots, and a wool cardigan and I was set to go. Even those got shed as I warmed up pedaling, making it feel like Spring were really coming. Dare I hope?

Watch out, world, pregnant cyclist on the prowl! Baby and I are loving this warm weather on two wheels. ♥

IMG_4553 IMG_4563

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 20:11

    Hooray! Looks gorgeous! Feeling some sun on your face is so nice after dark weather, isn’t it? And having a beautiful yellow bike to take out in the sunshine, even better!

    We had weather about like that last week (high thirties and sunny), and this week it’s been cold and rainy – this morning we had heavy rain with some snow mixed in, right around 32 degrees. Looks like the clouds are burning off a bit though, so hopefully I’ll have my first dry ride home this week :)

    Happy mid-February!

  2. February 16, 2011 23:33

    You, Bee, and Baby look great. Enjoy the sunshine.

  3. February 17, 2011 02:17

    I had put my bike away since New Year’s, as the area where I live has been a mix of snow, ice, and hills (plus I live too far from my campus to commute back and forth by bike even in good weather), but this week saw me out spinning around town yesterday and on the local bike path today. It was delightful…

    Enjoy your bike rides!

  4. February 17, 2011 02:43

    I am so glad I stumbled upon your blog! I am 11 weeks, 1 day today! So we are pretty close, eh? I’ve been pretty sick during 1st trimester and work is draining me, so I went from a half-marathon per month to… powerwalking maybe once or twice a week. :(
    I update my blog weekly or so, too, so come visit! :)

  5. February 17, 2011 09:15

    Oh dear.. what a great pictures! How nice to see you still can move yourself and your lovely on two weels. Just be careful okay? ;o)

    Love from a also warming Holland!

  6. HokieKate permalink
    February 17, 2011 21:59

    I am not a winter cyclist, and I won’t take my bike out when the morning temperature is at or below freezing. But today was warm enough! My quick ride to school was lovely, and I am very excited to be biking again.

  7. February 18, 2011 10:18

    My wife insisted on being very active all the way up to her water breaking.
    About two weeks after my son was born she realized it was a good decision. She was also happy that she was able to shed the baby fat easier (she didn’t have much because she was active, but all of those late night trips to KFC)

  8. February 19, 2011 05:28

    Beautiful!

    Bee is the perfect sunny-day bike. :)

  9. February 22, 2011 00:16

    I think I have that same sweater jacket in grey! So warm and cozy and perfect for riding a bike on a cold winter’s day.

Leave a Reply

