Skip to content

you are my sunshine

February 21, 2011

Yellow

Good morning! It’s Monday, and it’s dreary and overcast again but I’ve got a secret weapon: a yellow coat and a yellow bike. This week, I’m making my own sunshine. Happy cycling to all of you out there! ♥

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 14:34

    You look sunny and cheery! Here in NY I woke up to a day filled with more fluffy white stuff! (Your not off for President’s Day?) Schools here (though not universities) have the week off : )

  2. February 21, 2011 16:26

    You are the cutest ray of sunshine ever!

  3. February 21, 2011 18:11

    Aw, you look so cute! Fun to ride the yellow bike again I’m sure. I know I hate riding my hefty old mountain bike to work on yucky days.

  4. Dawn permalink
    February 21, 2011 19:06

    Oh, you look adorable! I love your yellow bike, are you happy to be pulling her out again for spring?

  5. February 21, 2011 19:51

    Love the coat. Love the bike. I just heard my Jenny call my name from the shed. :)

  6. February 22, 2011 00:13

    Oh I love your attitude, the matching outfit with Bee and the snow. You have brought sunshine, mission accomplished.

  7. February 22, 2011 00:18

    The yellow jacket is fantastic! Wonderful twist on a classic piece. The best part is that it mixes style and function – keeping you and baby visible. Who wouldn’t see a striking trench like yours?

  8. February 24, 2011 17:59

    Sorry about the insistece. I could not find an axle to fit my Raleigh Sprite wheel and so I bought another wheel for now, I also wanted to buy the wheel for the back but the guy at the bike shop shop told me they don’t make them for vintage 3 speeds. Where did you find the wheels for your green bike? Thanks.

    • February 26, 2011 15:05

      Sister Helga – the guys at my local bike shop ordered the wheels (the rim part) for me and then they added the spokes themselves because the spacing on the original wheels was different and the new wheels (with differently spaced spokes) didn’t have room for the rear hub. They didn’t salvage the old spokes so they charged me something like $1/spoke to thread the new wheels.

      I can go out and check the wheels on my Sports to see what make they are and let you know. Hope that helps! S.

      • February 27, 2011 22:41

        Thanks. We couldn’t find any wheels precisely because the spokes are spaced differently. Right now they are trying to repair my wheel at the bike shop, but I want to replace the steel wheels with aluminum ones. I just want to know which brand? Width? Etc.

        Thanks! And yes, your coat is awesome. It’s already spring here.

      • February 27, 2011 23:24

        Sister Helga – I looked and it says “Sunrims CR 18” on mine. And they are aluminum. I think getting the new rims and having them custom thread the rims with spokes that fit around my hub (only on the back wheel) cost me somewhere around $230 total (labor included). This may vary based on your location and what your bike shop charges for labor, etc. I don’t know if “Sunrims CR 18” is enough info to get you started but that’s all I can read on them and I no longer have the receipt with the work order to locate more info. Good luck!

        S.

Leave a Reply

