Skip to content

{maternity} cycle style

March 3, 2011
Yellow, Red, and Navy Yellow Peugoet Mixte

This week I felt so honored to have my picture – in which I announced that I was pregnant and planning to continue cycling – featured on Vélocouture and Vélo Vogue. Two awesome blogs I love and read regularly. It’s funny to look back to that photo and remember that I felt ‘very pregnant’ at the time. Now, at 19 weeks, my bump is considerably larger and I’m excited to be standing next to my mixte as the snow is melting and I no longer need mountain bike tires to negotiate my commute. I’m sure there’s a metaphor in here somewhere about Spring coming, things beourgening, and my belly growing, but we’ll just let that one be…

Happy Cycling! ~ S.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 10:48

    It is no surprise that you and your bump are features on such stylish sites. (PS…that outfit you are wearing above is so darling!)

  2. March 3, 2011 14:07

    Congrats on all the recognition, dear! You deserve it!

  3. March 4, 2011 04:35

    Oh dear.. you are so good looking with your tiny little belly! I am almost bursting out of my skin! ;o)

    Happy cycling!

  4. Laura permalink
    March 6, 2011 01:45

    I feel very inspired by your biking all year round embrace, rain, shine, snow or pregnancy! Since you manage to bike regularly, and dress very nicely (and creatively) I wanted to ask you what is that you wear when it rains. I live in Buffalo so I’m used to snow storms but I avoid the roads in winter time for different reasons. I prefer late spring, summer and fall for biking. Rainstorms tend to discourage me from biking, specially if I need to go to campus (a 5 mile commute) to teach, because I have ended up drenched when caught up by the rain even when wearing a rain jacket. I would love to hear your tips and outlook. Thank you in advance!

    • March 8, 2011 21:58

      Laura – we don’t get a ton of rain where I live, so on days when it’s really coming down, I usually catch the bus or get a ride from my husband on his way to work. I have ridden on days when the rain wasn’t forecast until later and I just got drenched on my way home (at which point, I could just change upon arrival). I’ve also biked when it’s just slightly drizzling and then a light jacket sufficed in keeping me dry until getting to campus and my helmet usually was enough to protect my hair. I don’t know what to recommend for a longer bike ride in much rain, but perhaps you should consult with Dave on Portlandize.

      I know that it rains a lot in Portland and he still bikes to work in very dapper outfits and manages to overcome the rain issue. I also noticed that lots of cyclists in Munich still rode bikes even on heavy downpour days (it rains a lot in Munich), and they usually wore a plastic poncho over their regular clothes and another plastic backpack cover over their bags or briefcases. Wish I could be more help with this! good luck in figuring out how to make this work for you and let me know if you come up with some good strategies!

      – S.

      • Laura permalink
        March 9, 2011 11:53

        S., thank you for your reply and for the link. I will have to experiment, and ask around a bit more, or stick to staying from the bike to go to work on rainy days like you do. I am guessing that some people put up with the rain the best they can an carry spare clothes to change, because covering the body in plastic proves to be a good way to condense sweat which in turn makes one wet too. Ah, the elements…

  5. December 30, 2012 11:46

    Nice info, that was cool idea.

Leave a Reply

