Skip to content

first {bike date} of the season

March 20, 2011
Bike Date Bike Date

T. and I went on our first bike date of the season this weekend. We used to go to the movies or to dinner on our bikes quite frequently before the winter ice and cold hit. With it getting dark so early and the temperatures being so cold in the evenings, we used our car to go to the movie or out to eat over the past months. But this weekend, we hopped on the bikes and rode through campus, to our friends’ house to drop off some homemade bread, and then to the dollar theater for a viewing of “The Fighter”.

We grabbed Jimmy Johns and snuck it into the theater, I know, we’re bad like that. The movie was wonderful and our subs were delicious, especially after a 6 mile ride to get there.

Then we turned on our bike lights and added some warmer jackets and pedaled home in the setting sun. It was perfect. I’m looking forward to so many more of these now that the weather is warming up.

Bike Date Bike Date
14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 11:17

    Oh, looks like you both had so much fun! Nice!

  2. March 20, 2011 11:24

    You guys are so cute. I think bike dates might be the most romantic thing ever. I need to find a boy who will go for a ride with me.

  3. March 20, 2011 12:09

    Dollar theater! Portland used to have more of those, but in the past 15 years the trend moved to second-run-with-beer-and-pizza. Yeah, the movies are $3-4, but you can get a good pint and slice with the movie. Guess it’s a trade-off.

    Now April and I need to go on a bike date!

    • March 20, 2011 12:14

      That sounds pretty good too! I love theaters that sell beer or wine, it just takes the movie watching experience to another level :) Most theaters (if not all) in Germany were like that and I wish it were more common in the US.

      I’ve never lived in a place with a dollar theater before and I love it! I can’t imagine going to the other theater in town and paying $7-8 for a movie when I can wait a bit and see it for a $1-2 a month or so later. I hope it never goes out of business.

  4. March 20, 2011 13:21

    I LOVE hearing that you sneaked Jimmy Johns into the theatre! Please be “bad” more often.

    No jury could convict a pregnant lady of a food crime anyway.

  5. March 20, 2011 15:28

    I do that often with my cousin…especially the food part. We sneak in subways because they’re a bit healthier than whatever the movie theatre can offer. And also we only go to the dollar movies. It’s fun.

  6. Heidi permalink
    March 20, 2011 20:18

    Yum. I love Jimmy Johns. It was something we often splurged for back in my ISU days! Brings back memories! Just love the campanile. So pretty.

  7. March 21, 2011 12:10

    Your belly is looking so cute!

    I’m glad that you’re getting out on some dates while you’re growing your baby. Nights out with my husband when I was pregnant with my first baby were some of the best evenings ever. And out on a bike? Even better. Good for you!

  8. March 21, 2011 12:52

    Looks like fun :) Not to be too nosy, but I heart your outfit especially the shoes!

    Can you give another pregnant academic/cyclist girl some references?

    • March 21, 2011 13:21

      Hi AJ,

      these shoes were a gift from my mom and are honestly the best flats ever, so comfortable! They’re Joseph Seibel. You can get the rest of my outfit details here in Flickr. :)

Trackbacks

  1. hanging up my running shoes « Simply Bike
  2. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike
  3. Biking to the Public Market | Eliza Everyday
  4. biking to the public market | Eliza Everyday

Leave a Reply

