Skip to content

lunch time bike ride

March 25, 2011

lunch time bike ride

Although it’s gotten a bit colder again, on Monday we enjoyed one last beautiful day in the 60s F. So I took Fiona, my lunch, and my Kindle and rode to a nearby park just five minutes from campus. I found a bench and enjoyed my sandwhich al fresco, while reading a few more chapters of The Dirty Life. It felt so good and so decandent, although I really wasn’t doing anything that extraordinary. But for some reason, I always feel guilty about leaving work during my lunch hour, so this is only the second time I’ve done so. But since I’d be spending that time reading and eating in my office (and not necessarily doing work), why not do those things in a park outside?

I think I need to break myself of the guilt habit here and do this more often. Do you leave work for lunch time walks or bike rides? And is there honestly anything better on a nice warm afternoon?

Happy Weekend, everyone! S.

lunch time bike ride

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 08:37

    My hubby says that a lunch time walk is sometimes the only thing that keeps him sane. I’m sure it’s a slight exaggeration, but the reality is that a little bit of exercise and getting to see the sun, definitely helps to clear the head… being able to get outside is wonderful! I see no reason why you should feel guilty about such a thing. Your lunch hour is your time and you shouldn’t feel some sort of obligation to remain at your desk. At my last job, many people got out and either walked or biked around. In fact (because I worked in Human Resources), when people would come in telling me how completely stressed they were or upset about something, I would recommend that they go out for a nice walk and then come back and regroup. I think it’s a healthy way of relieving whatever stresses you’re feeling, and staring at green grass and trees while eating must be better than looking at a pile of papers or other work that needs to be done, right?

  2. March 25, 2011 09:05

    I always walk at lunch and it’s very encouraged where I work. Sometimes I’ll walk to the library (~15m) to pick up holds or return books, but I’ve started to ride there instead just for the extra boost of fun. My head is that much clearer in the afternoon. No guilt at all, as we’re doing our health (both physical and mental) a favour!

  3. March 25, 2011 09:50

    I work on a large university campus on top of a hill, so unfortunately, it’s difficult for me to do any bike riding on my 30 min lunch break, as it would take about that long to just get off the hill and back on again. I should find somewhere nice on campus to go eat lunch sometimes though, as I usually just sit at my desk. Especially once it stops raining all the time, I think it would do me some good to get out of the office more often.

    I will sometimes just take a break and go for a short 5 minute walk during the day, and that definitely helps clear my head and wake me up a bit.

  4. March 25, 2011 10:50

    A bike and Kindle lunch in the park? That is perfection. I cannot wait to do this once the weather is a little more consistent.

  5. March 25, 2011 12:19

    I don’t always take a lunch break, but when I do I ALWAYS go for a long walk or cycle ride. From my office I can walk to the beach in ten minutes, and then I walk along the shoreline for 45 minutes, before heading back for the afternoon’s stint. If I go by bike I’m at the beach in two minutes and then I get to ride my bike along the promenade for almost a whole hour. Sheer bliss, and it definitely makes me more productive in the afternoons than I would be if I didn’t get such a fab dose of fresh air and exercise, so I don’t feel guilty in the least.

    I do this all year round, because even in the depths of winter in a howling gale the beach is the best place to chill out and put life’s little annoyances into perspective.

    As for actually EATING my lunch, I tend to do that a bite at a time whilst I’m working on something else.

  6. March 25, 2011 15:43

    I get 45 minutes for lunch, that includes returning phone calls, and getting to the ladies room, so “No” I don’t leave. On the rare occasion when I do step out, I am totally revived! ENJOY your picnics for one!

  7. March 25, 2011 18:09

    I have a little flexibility in my job, so yes sometimes I do bike at lunch, or I go for a run. I’m lucky that we have a nice gym facility with showers for those days when I run. The nice thing about a lunch time run is that I can concentrate on home and family when I get home in the evening and not feel guilty about not getting excercise in for the day.

    • March 25, 2011 20:49

      That’s a great idea! I’ve often wondered how I would find the time to work out once I have kids and I’ll want to spend evenings enjoying my time with them. Getting to work that into your workday sounds like a very efficient thing. It’s nice that your company caters to that possibility!

  8. March 26, 2011 01:49

    I love getting some oxygen and sunlight at every opportunity – nothing beats it!

Trackbacks

  1. Diabetes Articles» lunch time bike ride « Simply Bike
  2. happy one year to simply bike! « Simply Bike

Leave a Reply

