Skip to content

chic new york cyclists

March 30, 2011


{image by Anna Wolf, found here}

I love these images taken by photographer Anna Wolf of New York cyclists. Want to see more? Go here. My midweek eye candy for you. ♥

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 13:36

    Thanks for sharing this website. It’s lovely.

  2. kips permalink
    March 31, 2011 16:36

    I went to the link, and as in similar stories I’ve seen in the NYT and places like that, none of these chic cyclists is wearing, or even carrying a helmet. I wish I could bike around so fancy free, but biking in NYC and the surrounding burroughs is no joke. There are lots of new bike lanes making things safer, but cyclists still get killed every year and a lot of drivers are actively antagonistic towards us, not to mention the potholes and broken glass. This isn’t Holland.

    I wish the papers and websites would encourage people to wear helmets. Even I, who have known true terror on the streets, am sometimes tempted to be a glamour girl, to feel the wind in my hair, after looking at these pictures and seeing the real girls in the flesh. I feel so uncool. But I’m safer.

    • March 31, 2011 20:03

      Kips – I know what you mean. I wear a helmet for 98% of my rides and feel that it’s necessary based on where I live, the lack of bike culture, and the lack of consideration for cyclists on the road. It’s just safer that way. A friend of our got hit by a car while on his bike 2 years ago in this same college town. I also sometimes feel like it’s hard to picture yourself being as cool/stylish on a bike with a helmet on, when you see so many people without, but I also see a good amount of cyclists who sport helmets. Such as Dottie of Let’s Go Ride a Bike, Julie (in NYC) of The Julie Blog, Meli of Bikes and the City, Miss Sarah of Girls and Bicycles, and I’m sure many more.

      I like to link to just any examples of people using bikes while in their everyday clothes and just out and about because they helped motivate me tremendously when I first thought about using a bike to get around for everyday trips. So even if they may not align with my beliefs on helmet use, I still see them serving a function.

      • kips permalink
        April 1, 2011 10:14

        Oh, when I said I wished websites would encourage helmet use, that wasn’t a criticism of you. I see that you encourage safety.

        I didn’t even really mean it as a criticism of any media outlet. It was just me sighing and wishing I didn’t have to wear a helmet.

        I am ambivalent about the media depictions– I think that any portrayal of bikers looking cool and like they’re having the most unencumbered fun is good in that it encourages biking– but it’s kind of deceptive. But if they showed people who were all sweaty and loaded down with safety gear, it’s not very good advertising– even if under all the dorkiness, that biker feels awesome.

Leave a Reply

